Bit more work at farm


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 19th 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

A really good nights sleep for a change.
It is going to be another hot one with completely clear skies.
We are supposed to be going to the farm this morning but as I start to get things ready Jai has been and picked some henna(?) leaves and is preparing to colour her hair. With temperatures rising throughout the morning this means that our window of opportunity has now passed. It is only 7:30 I am already hot and sticky. Unfortunately Jai only takes 10mins to do her hair so it is off to the farm after all.
I take down the remainder of the old shelter with Pad stacking the wood to be reused later when we put a new one up somewhere else. I then cut some long bamboo poles to use for making a small fence in the back garden to seperate the veggie patch from the house and to hang our orchids from. As the wood etc rots so quickly and gets eaten by so many different things this is almost an annual job. Pad is ploughing the land around our palms before planting his cassava for the year. It has been a few years since I had a go at this but cant resist. I am still useless and am loath to exert myself in case of injury. The plough behind the iron buffalo is quite heavy and it is hard work to get it to turn tight corners so although I can plough up and down it doesnt save Pad any time as ge has to follow me to turn around at the end of each row. I go up and down a few times then leave things to the expert. I am not sure that Jai's cinematic skills have managed to capture the moment which is perhaps just as well. Strangely, although I was soaked in sweat it doesnt feel as hot out at the farm working as it did sat in the shade at the house earlier. Perhaps there is a little more air out here or by keeping busy takes my mind of things. Jai and Ram are following the plough planting cassava for the coming year. This is really back breaking stuff and I leave it well alone. With the trees getting bigger this may be the last year there is room to plant amongst them.
I leave them all to ,it and bike back to the house for a cold shower. Spend the afternoon alone with a boo apart from a short visit from George.
Back to the farm about 15:30 to find that they have finished and all is planted. Bike Jai back to the house.
Enjoy a cold beer tonight whilst Jai is cooking.
Just getting sttled on the bed when Pad arrives with the bamboo that I cut this morning and a few sacks of soil from the farm to help fill in the holes the rain has caused in the garden.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb