Successful visit to the farm


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 8th 2013
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

Don't wake up till 7:30 which is a couple of hours later than our norm here.
I sit in front of the house after breakfast writing up these notes and it starts raining. Fin arrives for the day again and pretty soon … I should stop calling her the devils child I guess – Bom Bem from next door finds that she is here.
We bike out to the farm and find that Jai's youngest brother Pad has done a great job. I will not need to do any work with last years palm oil trees as Pad has planted cassava all around them and therefore kept the ground clear of any grass at all. He has also cleared extra areas and planted them with cassava as well so there is now room for an additional 15 or so trees shortly. The area where I cleared the bamboo from is completely overgrown but the bamboo itself is well and truly dead with no signs of new growth at all. Much less work than I anticipated and the whole area is looking really good. Pad has also extended the pond and stocked it with fish. I am happy with things here and checking out the rice makes Jai happy as well. With plenty of rain the fields are looking a lush green and the rice looks really strong and healthy.
A lazy afternoon with a book follows with a little work in the back garden in the evening. George and Wan visit returning the first of several cases of books which I add to my stock cupboard.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb