A monk for the day - well, a week ...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 4th 2012
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

Straight after breakfast we ake our donation to the house where they are having the party. It is Jai's nephew from next door, wife's, grandmother's house and they are commemorating 10 years after the death of her husband - I think ?! It is just before 07:00 and people are sat around swilling beer and whiskey with a few looking somewhat drunk already. I decline offers of alcohol which I cant really face at this hour of the day. Return to the house by 07:30 for a nice cup of tea.
Bike to neighbouring Pak Chong to say a proper welcome back to German John. He appears to be on a similar schedule to me now. Needs to go to Laos near the end of January to refresh his visa and is returning to Europe about 23rd March within a day or two of us.
After lunch Jai goes back to the party. I want to see the monk making ceremony but not all the other tosh. I have been here for about a dozen new monks now but have never seen the head shaving etc bit.
I go out to the farm to water the new trees which are all looking fine then return to water the garden which isnt looking so good.
The monk making parade around the village passes us about 16:30 and I make the effort to come out ad watch the drunks dance past.
I have been saving myself to go drinking at the party tonight but over dinner Jai decides she is too tired to go and by 18:30 is in bed. I sit our front for a bit then watch a little of Brazil v Libya 5-a-side footer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb