Day 12


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 1st 2015
Published: January 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 12
New Years Day..... Wwooaawww. We had an unbelievable experience watching New Year's Eve unfold last night. Incomparable to the events that may have occurred if I had spent it in UK!
I can safely say that we enjoyed the diversity that this culture offers.
Today we opted for an 8 0'clock start. Given that we were drinking last, night I was not sure if I would be able to manage it, but I did!
Today we are flying to Mumbai. We took s tuk tuk to Chudi, then the local bus to Margoan, then changed bus to the airport bus. It was a very easy journey that cost 60 rupees each, instead of 1000 each by taxi! The flight was delayed. We finally got seated on the plane, both Tom, and I fell asleep for the whole flight. I think last night finally caught up with us. We decided to take a taxi to the hotel. We arrived at Volga Hotel at about 6.30pm. We checked in to our 'economy' room, checked the shared bathroom. It is basic, but do-able. I think none of my friends could do this.... lol
After taking cold showers and settling in; we set off for a walk.
We were ready for food, before exploring. We found an eating place that looked reasonable. I really enjoyed falafel wrap and iced tea. A pleasant find! After eating we went for a long walk. We started at the Taj Mahal Hotel, and The Gate of India. They both looked positively regal. They way they look is enhanced by lighting. There were lots of admirers of these two majestic buildings. You can't help yourself.... You just have to stand.... And gaze in awe of these buildings! Tom and. Have joked for a few days now about staying in the Taj..... I am sure ..... If I hadn't lost my purse with cards in it, I would have definitely treated us to just one night! ..,. Maybe next time!
We continued waking up towards Marine Drive.
We could see bright lights and well dressed people, surrounded by colours, flowers, lights and beautiful drapes. As we got closer, we could see it was a wedding ceremony. We weren't lucky enough to go in, but took a great photo of the elaborate entrance.
We made our way back to the hotel for a well earned sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb