AFRICA - THE ADVENTURE BEGINS


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
July 13th 2022
Published: May 12th 2024
Edit Blog Post

VICTORIA FALLSVICTORIA FALLSVICTORIA FALLS

Windy, loud and surrounded by mist and spray.
AFRICA

JULY 13 – AUGUST 8, 2022

This trip was very different from others I have taken. I usually just decide on a country, buy the tickets and go. I have traveled to Indonesia, Europe, and Central and South America. But for Africa, I was a little nervous. Africa is a continent. It is huge. And everything would be new. I thought a tour might be better this time. I chose one offered by Rosy’s Responsible Travel. These tours include sightseeing, tourist activities, and opportunities to learn about the country's culture and cities being visited.

The tour, led by Sunway Safaris was a 15-day interactive camping trip in Africa at a really reasonable price. I love to backpack, and I like hands-on experiences. I did not want a tour where you get off a big, crowded bus with many other Europeans and follow a guide all day. This safari trip was limited to twelve people traveling by truck/bus to three African countries: Zambia, Namibia, and Botswana. We had clear instructions on immunizations, visas, what to bring, when and how to pay, etc. Every day, we would set up and take down our tents, help with meals, and clean
TWO RAINBOWSTWO RAINBOWSTWO RAINBOWS

You can see how wet it is on the paths.
up.

Planning took time with many encouraging emails. When it was time to pay, I decided on the 21-day tour since the extra week was just $500 more. Making the payment was terrifying because it had to be a bank transfer. The company does not accept credit cards. My bank did not want to send the money this way and told me horror stories of money disappearing into the ether. I took a leap of faith, and it worked seamlessly.

I used i-visa to get my Zambia visa. We were able to get the others at the border of each country. Sunway suggested we enter the country a couple of days early to easily meet up with our group. I did just that and chose to stay at an inexpensive local hotel I found on Booking.com.

I had a two-hour layover in Johannesburg. Looking into the distance from the airplane's door, my first impression of Africa was the amazing variety of tree shapes on the horizon; the landscape was so unfamiliar that it was tantalizing.

At Livingstone airport, I looked for an ATM and a SIM card for my phone, but I didn’t find either. I
OKOVANGA HOTELOKOVANGA HOTELOKOVANGA HOTEL

My very comfortable hotel had a good location and a great staff.
took a taxi to my hotel, the Okavango Lodge. It was built around a good-sized garden area, with two or three seating areas shaded by trees. Three house cats wandered around, making it a pleasant place to read or write. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Just after dark, I started to walk to an ATM, and a staff member came outside and offered me a ride. Since it was late, I also got a take-out meal. I later learned the hotel had a kitchen, and I could order meals from a limited menu.

My first full day in Zambia was spent making too-small withdrawals from the ATM, getting a SIM card for my phone, and walking around Livingstone, taking photos and talking with people. I was surprised to see women wearing heavy jackets and warm leggings in the heat. One of the women told me that at six o’clock, the sun goes down, not gradually but immediately, and the temperature drops dramatically.

I arrived at the Waterfront Hotel early the next day per tour instructions. I ordered a drink and an appetizer. Soon, our group was complete: three couples, four teens, a solo man, Hubert (married,
LOCAL ARTLOCAL ARTLOCAL ART

These are just a few of the pictures decorating the walls of the hotel
but his wife doesn’t travel), and me. We had two guides and a driver, as well. We finalized our paperwork, learned how to set up our tent and how to take it down, and learned that each morning, we would roll it up and pack our things in the Big Red truck. We chose what tourist activities we wanted to purchase for the next day. Hubert asked me if I wanted to go horseback riding, and I agreed. Also, I bought an excursion offering High Tea after sitting in a pool above Victoria Falls. Finally, after all the planning for the next day, we went to Victoria Falls.

The first glimpse of Victoria Falls was jaw-dropping; I was more or less left on my own. After only a few minutes, I decided to rent a waterproof poncho to protect my clothing from the heavy mist. I wandered the trails that led to different viewing points and took photo after photo of the cascading water as it fell more than 350 feet to the rocks below. It is a world heritage site. Local names include Thundering Smoke and Boiling Water. It is an important source of tourism for Zambia and Zimbabwe. This “falling sheet of water” is 5,604 ft. wide. The mist, noise, and ever-changing rainbows made it an out-of-this-world experience, especially because I enjoyed it alone. What a spectacular way to welcome my 80th year.

We ended our first day with dinner at the hotel. After dinner, we had a delicious homemade birthday cake. The group sang Happy Birthday in English; the staff sang in the local tongue. It was very thoughtful, although I would have preferred less attention. Two more Lindas were in attendance: one was restaurant staff, and one was in our group. We stayed in Livingstone for two days, sleeping in our tents, which gave us experience in setting them up and wandering around campgrounds, especially at night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

HOTEL GARDEN AND PATIOHOTEL GARDEN AND PATIO
HOTEL GARDEN AND PATIO

I didn't get any photos of the three cats who sunned themselves,and entertained the guests/
BIG FIVE RESTAURANTBIG FIVE RESTAURANT
BIG FIVE RESTAURANT

Walking distance from the hotel, this restaurant is still under construction.
WONDERFUL DECORATIONS WONDERFUL DECORATIONS
WONDERFUL DECORATIONS

This is like an outdoor walking art exhibit, or theme park.
LOCAL DAD SPENDING TIME WITH HIS DAUGHTERLOCAL DAD SPENDING TIME WITH HIS DAUGHTER
LOCAL DAD SPENDING TIME WITH HIS DAUGHTER

I enjoyed talking with this dad whose child also loved investigating the structures.
HOME AWAY FROM HOMEHOME AWAY FROM HOME
HOME AWAY FROM HOME

This tent is not my three-pound hiking tent. It was very roomy, and I had it all to myself. Thankfully, others helped me. It is easier with a tent mate.
TRANSPORTATION - THE RED BUSTRANSPORTATION - THE RED BUS
TRANSPORTATION - THE RED BUS

This vehicle was sturdy and moderately comfortable. It carried us and all our luggage, tents, food and essentials.
LIVINGSTONELIVINGSTONE
LIVINGSTONE

I didn't make it to the museum. This statue is at the entrance to the falls.
RAIN GEARRAIN GEAR
RAIN GEAR

It was like standing in a shower. It didn't take long for me to turn back and rent a pancho.
BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIONBIRTHDAY CELEBRATION
BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Everyone was so nice. The cake was homemade and we enjoyed it for two meals.
VIEW FROM THE HOTEL RESTAURANTVIEW FROM THE HOTEL RESTAURANT
VIEW FROM THE HOTEL RESTAURANT

The first of many sunsets. This was the evening of the first day.


Tot: 0.366s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb