HAWAII - ON THE MEND


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Kailua-Kona
April 12th 2022
Published: November 14th 2023
Edit Blog Post

ADVERTISEMENTADVERTISEMENTADVERTISEMENT

This looked so interesting. I thought it was a play.
ON THE MEND

Hawaii is a favorite travel destination for Americans. We were three older ladies, almost strangers, in a condominium in Hawaii. We had all been to Hawaii more than once. Recreational ballroom dancing was our common bond. After Covid, there were no venues open for recreational ballroom dancing in Kona. However, is there a more beautiful place to spend time relaxing and getting to know one another better than Hawaii? I was still recuperating from my broken clavicle, but I was gaining strength and mobility. As we got settled in we started finding more to do around the area.

We went to a really nice public park on the beach. We shopped at a great little thrift shop, called Memory Lane. They had great low prices and sales and we went several times. We never came home without buying something. Then we went to Ross so the ladies could shop. And Walmart for some things we forgot to pack. I saw a really interesting poster on a wall advertising Ms. Demeanor and the Felons…I thought it was a play. So we hurried one evening to go to it. It was a rock band at a local hamburger
FAVORITE BEACHFAVORITE BEACHFAVORITE BEACH

Beautiful sunset
shack. I was so embarrassed. And the band did not play dance music…just loud, thump-thump young people’s music.

Louise wanted to take us to her favorite restaurant, Sam Choy’s. It does have outside dining and it is a nice place to see the sunset. However due to changes during COVID-19, even though we were past the crisis, we had to order from a window by the kitchen and use pre-wrapped plastic cutlery. The ambiance just isn’t the same without attentive servers, linens, and silver service. Another night we went out and had to wait an hour for a table, teeny tiny and squeezed onto a three-foot wide walkway clinging to the outside wall of the restaurant; the three of us at a table for two. There was live music, but the meal was mediocre. In the end, we preferred our own cooking.

Lou wanted to do yoga on the beach so we reserved a space. We arrived early on the designated morning, in the park right across the street from our condo. The instructor used headphones so we could hear her instructions, but then we could not hear the soothing sounds of the ocean. We rented mats and
GREEN FLASH?GREEN FLASH?GREEN FLASH?

No flash.
I placed mine under a big, spreading tree. I thought I would test a few poses to see what I could do without putting too much pressure on my right arm and shoulder. I was on my hands and knees when…plop! A big gecko fell from the tree above, right in front of my nose…it looked around and scampered toward the instructor. I immediately jumped up and moved my mat into the open, away from the tree but I never did regain my tranquility.

We saw a flyer for the circus and ordered tickets online. It was a small traveling circus and it felt like we were back in the 1950’s. We were early and glancing around we realized that Louise would be unable to sit in the bleachers; they were very rickety and there were no handrails. Luckily my arm was still in a sling, too, so we were ushered to priority seating practically in the lap of the performers. There were several acts with lots of glitter and lights. The biggest attraction was a man on a motorcycle riding inside a small circular, spinning metal cage. Then another motorcycle and rider was introduced into the cage, and
DINING OUTDINING OUTDINING OUT

Nice view
finally a third bike and rider. Now they were all crisscrossing each other’s paths. The spinning globe was so small it seemed there wasn’t room for two cyclists, let alone three. The flashing lights, loud music, and thrumming noise of the bikes enhanced the excitement. With my cotton candy, I felt like a kid again.

Because Easter was upon us, Louise expressed a wish to go to church services at the Stone Church just down the street from our residence. It was a high point of the trip. The church is very small so there is additional seating, outside under canopies and trees. The first thirty minutes of the service is simply music…wonderful drums, horns, and other instruments. There were powerful hymns followed by the sermon. After the closing announcement, everyone was invited to the large garden area looking out at the ocean. Coffee, punch, snacks, and food, were served: spring rolls with sauce, rolls with butter, baskets of mandarin oranges, hard-boiled eggs, and many kinds of chips. Church was such a hit we went the next two Sundays too. After church we went home for a big breakfast, then Lou and I crossed the street put up an
HAWAII MANTA TRIPHAWAII MANTA TRIPHAWAII MANTA TRIP

Only one photo allowed. This is looking down the mouth of the manta. To the right are the two flaps that scoop krill into its mouth.
umbrella, and spent the afternoon at the beach. The young man who helped us fold up our umbrella (Lou and I are both on the short side and couldn’t reach the release) told us our beach is the most dangerous on the island. I asked why and he told us about the many spinal injuries and deaths from the high surge and rocky shore. Nice to know. After a delicious dinner, the three of us went to the pool for an hour. What a wonderful Easter.

Lou and I went to the yacht club and snorkeled. We had to make room for the long Hawaiian canoes to beach on shore. We also watched young children, 8 and up, taking rowing lessons, and overturning the long canoes. It was terrifying watching all these little kids swinging long, heavy oars, as the boat flipped over. We suddenly realized there was not a single helmet or life jacket on any of the kids. Lou teaches water skiing to children in Lake Stevens, Washington, and life jackets are required. We asked the instructor why there were no life jackets and he explained that none are required if the child is eight years old
ROCK WRASSEROCK WRASSEROCK WRASSE

I saw this little fish, 6", while snorkeling. Brought my camera the next day and found it immediately, which is pretty amazing. It took me about half an hour submerging and shooting it, over and over.
or older. Then he added that there had been three adult fatalities at the head of the bay already this year.

As we were leaving, I stopped in at the watersports shop and signed up for a snorkel trip to see the manta rays at night. I hoped to introduce Lou to this but she must leave a week earlier than Louise and me and her flight home is before the next scheduled boat trip.

We took Lou to the airport and sent her off. Although the dynamics changed, Louise and I still had fun and found plenty to do. She drove me to the boat for the manta viewing. I took my underwater camera and it was wonderful to be back in the water with it. The boat moored to a long raft holding a strip of underwater lights. Snorkelers with masks hung onto the raft, spaced about three feet apart. When the lights were turned on manta rays swam up to get food. I took only one photograph and I was told I could not use my camera lights again because it scared off the mantas. The camera will not work without lights, so I couldn’t
JUMPING WAVESJUMPING WAVESJUMPING WAVES

Exhausting, but fun.
take another photo. That was disappointing because I had asked about it before we left shore. But I did get one shot.

Louise and I visited the beaches, swam in the pool and sunbathed. We did a little more shopping. The last day we cleaned the room and did all the laundry, packed the car with our luggage, and made it to the airport. My daughter picked us up in Seattle.

My arm was almost healed from curtailing my activities in Hawaii, especially not driving in all that time. Daily walks and Tai Chi helped too. At home I continued to wear my arm sling when I went out, just to remind people not to clap me on the shoulder or use that arm when dancing. I was optimistic about my approaching African camping trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

RESTAURANT ON THE BEACHRESTAURANT ON THE BEACH
RESTAURANT ON THE BEACH

Across from our apartment.
STONE CHURCHSTONE CHURCH
STONE CHURCH

Easter Sunday


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb