Stinky, dirty hostels, being scammed, wearing the same clothes for 4 days straight...makes for great memories!


Advertisement
South America
March 26th 2010
Published: March 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have kind of been slacking in the blogs. I suppose it is because I am almost done here in SA, and my energy for blogging is basically gone, and I feel like I could write a book on my experiences just in the last couple weeks...hence, I just havent written much. I will do my best to try to capture some stories though!
So after leaving Trujillo (the hostel of death), the four of us made our way up the coast to a city called Chichlayo. Once again, this city was just about as bad as the first. We stayed in a hostel which was nicely located right beside the place where all the taxis park. So around 6 in the morning, there was yelling, honking and excess noice. I actually cant fall asleep now without noise. I just lay there, and think something is missing...oh ya, is the constant traffic and honking! But this place was a little much for me. There was one kid, I have no idea what he was selling, but he was yelling and it sounded like he was saying mud mud mud, and this was ALL morning long! As we left, Nahjeen (the girl I was with) mentioned something about breaking his face so he would shut up, and I said that he was SOO annoying. Funny enough, he could understand english (he just laughed, but he did quite down a bit after that)! Haha, I have become quite used to not a soul understanding me. Especially up in the north, where I was probably one of 10 tourists. When your tour book, called rough guides, says this route is a little off the beaten path, they are normally right!

So, the only cool thing about that city was some tombs we saw. These tombs had not been raided, and man, talk about gold and silver! These old kings were pimped out! Very neat, but they wouldnt let us take pictures unfortunately. It was interesting how different cultures (Egypt for example), buried their kings in similar ways, and these two cultures were on opposite sides of the world. So, after the tombs, we took a bus all night to another city. We arrived at our hostel at 6 in the morning, and no one was awake. Its quite the feeling, just walking into some yard and sleeping on the ground (well, I grabbed the hammock 😊. Needless to say, this place is a GEM! Right on the beach, fresh seafood and warm ocean waves. I loved it there! And lucky me, I was there for my birthday! That little town probably had about 30 people living in it though. Super small. I think I saw every single citizen on several occasions.

After paradise, we took another van up near the border of Ecuador. First impression of that city, once again, not so nice! Our van was bombarded with people shouting and trying to get us to take their taxis. I didnt realize, but cities near borders are more dangerous, due to drug trade. And the people are very poor, also adding to desperation. The only good thing about taking a bus, is that you get to see the entire country. It is beautiful!! The bus ride up to Ecuador took about 6 hours and I didnt sleep once. Miles and miles of banana trees, and lush mountains and trees. It was funny because every stop, people would come rushing onto the bus trying to sell stuff. Chicken on a stick anyone? Or how about watermelon with warm milk pored over top?? Oh, and I also saw people "smuggling" drugs across the border. It really wasnt even that sneaky of them. Obviously, cause I saw, but never the less, quite interesting.
Ecuador is quite nice, but more expensive than Peru and more Americanized. They dont even have their own money, they use american dollars. Glad I had the opportunity to go there!
Oh, I also got to see some Mangroves. Didnt know what those were, but its trees and shrubs that grown in salt water. Very cool stuff! It was canals and a huge secion of treese right on the coast of the Pacific ocean. They also had crocodiles, which we didnt get to see, cause the tour guide decided to rip us off and not show us after we paid. Grrrr; that is so annoying! This town was great at trying to take your money. So, after being scammed into buying 2 returns tickets, I am now in Lima for a couple more days (that bus ride home is a whole different story! Lets just say, sitting beside a vomiting baby, stinky toilet and not sure where my bag for 20 hours, made for a unimpressed darci). Its kind of relaxing being in Lima now because I am a little more comfortable here. Im trying to get my fill of peruvian food. I am definitely going to miss the food and the weather here! Im doing my best to enjoy and soak in every last bit of SA I can in the next 3 days!

Advertisement



10th December 2010

Hostel Management Software
Its a good blog .I like it...................................

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb