Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
September 15th 2011
Published: September 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It feels so weird to be blogging again! I must say, this trip is completely different than my experience in South America. Perhaps because I am not alone this time, and most people can speak some english.
So, after a 6 hour delay in Vancouver due to some computer malfunction, I arrived in Hong Kong 24 hours after leaving Kelowna. I haven't had to deal with jet lag before. I have a new found respect when people complain about jet lag. Its not the funnest thing to go through. It wasn't that bad for me, because I only slept like 3 hours on the plane, so when I arrived at night, I basically slept the night. The hostel was the smallest room I have ever been in. The bathroom was about the size of one in a motor home. You had to stand over the toilet to shower. Or someone just put a toilet and a sink in a stand up shower, if that paints a clearer picture.
That city is beautiful and so clean! They actually have signs that state the hand rails and escalators will be sanitized every 2 hours. And it wasn't uncommon to see people walking around with the face mask on. AnneMarie and I thought it would be a funny picture to buy some masks and walk around the city with them. Hahahah, I am sure some people wont' understand our sense of humour but those pictures are hilarious. Went and saw the big budda, which was pretty impressive. We also are on a 'planking' kick this trip. If you don't know what that is, google it. I planked in front of the budda. priceless photo!
I had read about the bait and switch in the hong kong markets and to watch out for it. I was a victim of this. So, basically, I went to buy a camera, foolishly thinking, oooo i can get it so cheap! Well, I picked one, decided on a price and then proceeded to wait 30 minutes while they went to go get the camera (not the model in the window). Meanwhile, the sales guy comes up and casually mentions how the camera you picked is actually junk and not nearly as good as some others. So while you sit and wait, he totally upsells you on an actual cheaper camera and you pay double (actually triple) what its worth. So mad about that, but i'll hand it to him, he was good!! So regardless, tough lesson learned and my new camera isn't actually all that great.
I thought I would be so much taller than most of the females and males for that matter there. Pretty much was right on about that. All the people I saw were really slender and can't say I saw any overweight chinese. Oh but the food is incredible! So good! American chinese food is a joke.
I'm sitting in an internet cafe in Bali right now, and I can hear the ladies on the street calling out MASSAGE... so persistent! Anyway, I'm a little rusty on the blogging, and I have a strong urge to get back outside and go sit by the pool in my hostel 😊
I'll write about my time in Bali next blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb