Headed to the Hot North!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Trujillo
March 17th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had a wonderful time when my mom and sister came here! Quite sad to see them leave, but they were ready to get back to Canada and their families. I, on the other hand, still have 2 weeks left. So, I am headed all the way up the coast of Peru with 3 other friends. Overall, its about a 20 hour drive, but we split it up, so Im stopping and seeing certain ruins along the way.
So, the first night....my oh my, sometimes I have to wonder how on earth I get myself into certain places! Sebastian (a friend from Holland that I met) and I took a 10 hour bus ride to a town called Trujillo. The other two people met us the next morning. Anyway, I sit down in the bus, and the very first thing I see is a newspaper saying how dangerous and the recent killings that has been going on in Trujillo...oooh great! So, we arrive around 9 ish at night, and decide to walk to our hostel. Probably not the smartest decision of my life. The streets are totally DEAD and its not even that late. I suppose i´m used to other cities, where at 9 at night its still quite busy and alive. Nope, not in this city! And then we couldnt find the hostel, of course that would happen. So, finally, we find it, and it turns out it used to be an old hospital. Mega creepy! Ive been in some places that aren´t my favorite, but this place will forever be burned in my memore. Unfortunatly, it was too late and just unverving to go outside, so we decided to stick it out just for one night. It just felt odd and weird there! loooong hallways and so empty! I might be going on just a tad bit about this place, but overall, it was gross sleeping in a room where people may or may not have died. Sick! But I survived, after being woken up in the middle of the night with the sound of huge bugs buzzing. Makes me a stronger person 😊
Anyway, we went to an old city that is right on the ocean that was made of mud bricks. Its called Chan Chan and 1500 years old! Not bad for being made of mud! Its survived fairly well, because it never rains here. This morning, I saw some huge sun and moon temples. They are basically huge pryamids in the middle of the dessert, also made out of mud bricks. It just doesn´t get old, seeing some of these huge temples, and how they were made and the different cultures. This Chan Chan (I just like the name) was taken over by the Incas and their own culture was kind of lost. Anyway, I wont give anymore historic details, even though I just love it!
Its kind of cool, just driving and getting to see most of Peru. I am not going into the Amazon, but from the Mountians, through an absolute dessert as far as you can see, to tropical lush area beside the ocean, Peru is fast becoming one of my favorite countries. Its just so diverse and beautiful! Oh, and the food...Just about as good as the scenery! So good and cheap! I had a Haiwaiin burger today, and it had a peach slice in it. Quite unexpected, but really, I had all the food groups in my burger, wheat, beef, dairy and fruit! haha! So, after this stop, Im off to the top of Peru, then hopefully Ecuador!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb