First day in Lima


Advertisement
South America
July 22nd 2009
Published: July 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I met Claire finally, when I found the cab driver, which was nice, because as independent as I like to seem, being alone in a foreign country is a little scary, and it is nice to know someone. Tried to rent a cell for the trip but my credit card didn´t work...not sure what that was about! Barranco´s Backpacker´s Inn is delightfull! Very colorful and no bed bugs! We slept in a 3 bunk bed room (all beds full) and fell asleep to snores. Delightful (no sarcasm implied)! Got up, had a good shower, and breakfast, then walked down to the beach, which is really close. Down, and up, lotrs of steps though! A lot of the windows we passed were broken and closed up by bricks. I think the thing I will miss most about my computer is being able to unload my memory card, as now I have to ration my photos, tho maybe that means
Advertisement



23rd July 2009

un-requested paternal advice...
Hi Claren. Your credit card might not work if it does not have one of these recent chips that call for a pin # rather than a signature. I had that happen in Wales, but keep on trying 'cause there remain some stores that still handle the non-chip credit cards. You probably have a debit card? It could be that only 10% of Bank's debit machines take foreign ones...They worked better than credit cards in Africa, where Traveller's checks were nightmarish to cash in. For your photos: you may be able to download them (or some of them) on a flash card and you can download from that into your Facebook site which you can access from any cybercafe (usually more frequent and cheaper outside 1st world). After download you can erase and start anew! Peru is known for its most delicious ceviche, but 'turista' can come with it.... Some of the best archaeological visits are on the desert-like Coast sites (Moche culture, for instance) away from the tourist-packed Highlands. I am glad that leaving the airport/bus station went well. These are the worst sites for taking newcomers for the kind of ride they don't want. Every cab/cab driver should carry an official cab permit in sight of the passengers (hard to assess validity though), 'cause there are many pretend cabs that are very bad news... Good that you are getting exposed to proud applied anthropologists! Theoretical anth. is over-rated, but do not conclude that it is only hot air! But it just needs not be pre-eminent.... End of uncalled for fatherly advice... I'm so happy that you are striking out worldwide on your own! I sent you email about the Rhode University in South-Africa. Love, Olivier

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1006.3kb