Long Time No Blog


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Concepcion
December 5th 2007
Published: December 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh dear, I really have been rather rubbish at updating this blog haven't I? After various complaints from my mother I am forcing myself to update here again.

Since the last time I blogged I have been to Asuncion a couple of times, been horrifically ill a couple of times, attended a Paraguayan baptism service, put up my christmas tree and as always been just too darn hot most of the time.

The first time I went to Asuncion it was to go and pick up and pay for my plane ticket to Brazil for my christmas hols, at which time I found out that the people in the Paraguayan Embassy are either really stupid or really evil. I now dislike them a lot. If you remember my blog entry about the Epic Golden Tourist Visa Quest, you will remember just how much trouble I went to and how much money I paid to get that stupid visa. Now i find out at the travel agents that because I'm Brittish and therefore don't need a visa means that the fact that I have one anyway will be completely ignored and they're probably going to charge me a fine because I didn't leave the country after 3 months. I may have thought a few choice swear words in my head on hearing all this. Other than that I didn't really do a lot, even though I was there for nearly a week. I mostly just bummed around in Elaine's house, which is lush so it was very enjoyable.

The seccond time I went to Asuncion I was horrifically ill about an hour or two after arriving at Elaine's I started throwing up. So that was fun. It wasn't too bad as she had a parasite and so was at home ill too, so we just sat around in our pyjamas all day feeling sorry for ourselves. Thankfully it was only one of those 24 hour bug things, so by the next day I was better. So i went to the cinema to see Stardust, which was dubbed. I think I still managed to follow it all though, after all it's more a visual film than a dialogue film... I loved it anyway, I'll blatently be getting it when it comes out on dvd. Then that evening was the leaving party for Bishop John and Judy who are now back in England after being here for 20 years.

Seeing the way the missionaries live in Asuncion compared to here, it's really not fair. They live in the same level of comfort as in England. I've been finding it so much harder to be here after those trips to Asuncion, seeing how cushty they're all living. I feel like such a bad person, being here is just making me more materialistic that ever, as I miss washing machines and tescos almost as much as I miss my friends and family... Dave may have been right after all in his prediction that I would come back after this year and become a high powered world destroyer... Oh Dear.

We're started doing Natvity Plays with all the different kids clubs. We did a dress rehersal the other day, and the kids were soooooo cute, especially the ones in the animal costumes... Adorable! I put my christmas tree up in my room the other day, well I say my, it's Claire's, obviously. I just can't get my head around the fact that Christmas is going to be HOTT... I'm used to rainy cold crap weather... I really miss rainy cold crap weather! My mummy sent me a chocolate advent calender, which is lovely.

Last week, or the week before, I lose track. Romina had her first opperation (which went well and she's recovering nicely) so Claire was away for a week. On the sunday was a baptism service for 5 of the kids in church. We went and they did it in the river... Which is a lovely brown colour... Glad my church had a baptismal pool is all I can say! But it was sweet, and then the whole church shared cake and fizzy drinks. Which was sweet.

Then last tuesday, or maybe the tuesday before. I got really really sick. I was home alone and I felt so sick that at one point I was worried that if I died no one would even know! I had a fever, it was scary I was in sooo much pain and I was shivvering, which in 40 degree heat is definitely a sign you're ill... And I was puking too. Claire came back that night, and the next day she was like a surrogate mum, I was so ill I just could not get out of bed, all my bones ached, my head felt like it was going to explode, I was dizzy and shivvering... It was not fun. She kept taking my temperature, which at one point was 39, which is apparantly rather high. I took some medicine not unlike calpol back when it was still made of pure sugar... So that was fun! Oh and I got to do that whole, cold wet towel on the forehead thing, like in the old films... I looked like a bit of a pillock, but it really does help!

On Saturday we went on the end of year sunday school outing. We went to, well essentially a stream. It was really nice though, we all brught picnics and the kids played in the water and so did I because it was like 40 degrees and the water was lovely and cold... I got bitten sooooo much though. We get to go back several other times, because each kids club gets to go on an end of year outing there.

I just cannot wait to go to Brazil for Christmas holidays. I want to go to the beeeeeeeeach... And to see Holli, obviously.

Well erm, that's all for now folks! I promise I'll try and update a bit more often.

Advertisement



5th December 2007

Well, it's about bloody time! Can't really say that any of what you said was much of a suprise...but if one person can save you from becoming a High Powered World Destroyer, it's That Marxist. Have fun in Brazil at Xmas!

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb