The Wrong Way Round


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Concepcion
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am really very bad at this blogging malarkey. So much happens and I totally just forget it all and don't write it. I wanted a realy nice travel journal to write in for here, and I got one, but do I write in it nearly regularly enough... Of course not! *slaps wrists*

Anyone who's ever watched Brainiac science abuse will be familiar with an enlightening experiment called "Things you can't do whilst being electrocuted" Well the other day I accidently managed to carry out my own version of this experient, and the answer is, for me anwyay, not a whole heck of a lot. I was in the midsts of plugging my laptop in at the wall when the boxy bit in the middle of the cable fell of the table, the sudden weight of which caused my hand to be pulled down and touch the two little prongy bits of the plugs as it was half way in the wall. Resulting in a massive arm spasm and me falling to the floor with a whimpering noise. Fun times.

This week has also seen more fun times with Sammi the dog. He's taken to chasing the camionetta when we go places, and nearly getting run over in the process. He's now been to Villa Alta with us 3 times. he doesn't learn his lesson though, because there he's been attacked twice by the dogs that live there. Stoopid mutt. Very cute though. We had to pick him up and let him ride with us in the car since he was going to get run over, and that dog has a serious odour problem, which was funny and everything untill he decided to sit on my lap and well and truly love up against me! The second we get back I had a shower and burned, no wait, washed my clothes. Well that's a lie, before I did that I went around hugging everyone. haha fools.

Last night there was a big concert type even called Impacto Juvanil, that was organised by one of the other churches in the area. It was really really good. They had a big stage and they had 2 theatre companies, a dance group and a Brazilian christian rock band. Good fun all round. Although apparantly the Bishop didn't like it. Oh well, I had an awesome time. They were doing a lottery type prize giving thinger throughout the night using the numbers on peoples tickets. One of the prizes to be won was a cell phone, but they didn't draw that one untill near te end of the night, and a lot of the youth from our church had to leave before then, so they gave me their tickets just in case. Now I kind of wanted that cell phone... In fact I even went so far as to say a quick "Please God..." kinda prayer... But He has a sense of humour, you know what he did? They called the winners number, 5098... That's one digit above mine! No fair! But wait, the person who has that ticket has left already so they're going to draw another one... But no way will my number come up now, it couldn't possibly... They call a number, wait I have that in my hand... It was Edgar's ticket, one of the kids from Villa Alta. So I had to go and get the cell phone I wanted, to give to this very sweet kid who has had such a tough life that this is going to seriously make his year... Okay God, I get the picture! Sheesh, subtlety not Your style today huh? Blah blah selfish me blah blah appreciate a bit more just how much I really have blah blah... (I jest with the blah blah part, I really did learn my painfully spelt out lesson)

I am going to Asuncion again tonight, I am tres excited. I am going to make excessive use of Elaine's washing machine, because I don't have one and my clothes hate it. It's okay, she already knows this. I am also going to take immense pleasure in having a shower in a bathroom that is the same size as my bedroom here in Concepcion. I'm there untill wednesday, so you never know, I might even be bothered to leave the house and enjoy some of the much missed benefits of capitalism. Such as pizza hut. Mmmmm *dribbles*

In case you were wondering about the title of this blog. It's because before I came here everyone told me that it would be awfuly hard at first and get easier the longer you were away. But I think it's the other way around for me. It's getting harder. And I've only been here two months. Oh dear.

In other news the Spanish is getting soooo much easier. Unfortunately it's doing so at the expensive of my Italian. Not sure I can remember a single word in Italian now... Well that might be a little exageration, but when I tried to talk to one of my friends in Italian earlier all I could think in was Spanish. Also my Mummy was (as per usual) right. I am totally learning to speak Spanish with the latin equivalent of a geordie accent. I spoke some spanish to one of my friends from my course at uni, and she could barely understand me... Oh dear!

Aaaaand as per usually I've run out of things to say... I know I've done more stuff than this, but I can't for the life of me remember what. Worrying eh?

Advertisement



29th October 2007

A Geordie accent?
The connections between Newcastle and Paraguay are clearly much stronger than even I had initially thought
30th October 2007

Spanish with a Geordie accent?
Spanish with a Geordie accent? Don't worry there's a career awaiting you: Just practice the Spanish for: "Dey five in the Big Broddur House." Keep well, Ham

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb