Ahh colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
November 27th 2006
Published: November 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I am back in South America, Ecuador to be exact (I was in Ecuador, now i am in Medellin, Colombia). The two weeks in the states flew by and can be summed up with two words. 24 and pizza. I ended up watching 3 seasons of the TV program 24 which probably equates to 60 hours of TV and ate I don't know how many pizzas. The highlights, however was visiting with everyone (well those of you that I saw) and the "annual" reunion at the Bally Muck (a bar for you non Waukeganites). I was also blessed to see some "old" Abbott cronies, Tuna and Jeanie take a bow (Suds you and Bob can take a bow too, Terry you fall under the Waukeganites). As always it was good to see that everyone was doing well. One disappointment was that I was not able to get up to Minnesota. Hopefully I will have an opportunity to get up there in next summer.

Right now I am in Medellin, Colombia. I have been here a little less than two weeks and was traveling around quite a bit. click here for to see photos from Colombia, hopefully I will be adding more soon. the internet is a little on the slow side here. I did a quick 4 day trip through southern Colombia visiting two archaeological sites. I took a "horseback tour" outside San Augustin. unfortunately my new memory card was corrupted and right now i don't have any photos of here. hopefully I will be able to recover them. after the horseback tour we went to the "Statue park". the next day we left for tierradentro where there are pre Inca underground tombs. this area has the only example of underground tombs in the america. After tierradentro we went to cali. From cali we went to a little town called salentro and did a hike there. From there I headed to Medellin where I have been for a few days. I should be hitting the road again in a day or two. The people live up to their reputation of being friendly and helpful. The country side is beautiful and so are the people.

I hope to draft up some travel plans shortly. I should be in Bogota by next weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



28th November 2006

Great photos
Great photos; the church, the tree...
28th November 2006

I'm beside myself
Dave Since seeing you at Bob's I've been catching up on your travel blogs. You are really experiencing life I'm impressed. Please keep sending I find everything you are doing fasinating and when your back in the states I'd like to buy you a pizza and talk to you about some stuff. You looked good man !!! Nice not having all the stress. Talk to you soon Tuna
28th November 2006

On the Road Again
Well Cuz .... It sure was great seeing you. Now I feel very special since you squeezed in breakfast with us between all the Pizza and 24! :) Your mom just sent me this update. All is well here! Your mom's house looks like Christmas already! Oh ....... just in case you did not know your Mom was the energizer bunny if Vegas, however I do think that her batteries are in need of recharging. God Speed Yogi, looking forward to more updates! Joni
29th November 2006

Glad to hear you are doing well. Have safe travels and enjoy the holidays!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb