Santa Marta


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Santa Marta
December 18th 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy Holidays!! I wish you and yours a happy holiday season




Hopefully I will get this posted before the holidays are over. I am currently in Santa Marta, Colombia. It is a town on the coast about 4 hours north east of cartagena. I am trying to go to cartagena but there is a problem since it is the height of the tourist season in Colombia and it is difficult finding a place to stay there. Santa Marta is a cheap enough place to stay, I have a small private room with cable TV for $4.25 a night. There are several nice beaches within a 20 minute drive but I am not in a beach mood right now. Hopefully I will make it to Cartagena for Christmas and before my visa expires.

After Christmas I have a problem. When I left for South america last April I really had no plans and since I am at the top of South America do I continue North into Panama and eventually to the US? Or do I head South and then fly over to Sydney and New Zealand? But then, I found one way flights to Sydney next June for under $500 leaving from LAX.

But right now I feel like settling down a bit and spending some time working on a project I have been meaning to finish for a few years now. Wow, time does fly. Hey can any of you world travelers recommend a place in south america, central america or mexico that would be a good place to settle down for 3 months or so?? thanks

ps hopefully i will get some photos uploased soon.



Advertisement



18th December 2006

place to stay in south america
well i haven't talked to you for so long.. i will be in Brasil in the next month.. you have a place to stay there.. beijos rose
18th December 2006

Iquitos Peru
Hi Dave, hope all is well. Consider staying in Iquitos, Peru. We miss you. Best regards, Bill
18th December 2006

Good place to settle down
If it helps Dave, I settled down in La Paz for a lot more than 3 months. As you know that is not a serious suggestion! Good luck with your quest.
19th December 2006

Happy Holidays
Yogi, Hope all is well with you. Travel safe and Merry Christmas. I had a great time at the Muck with everyone. Hope to see you soon. Love, Les
19th December 2006

Definitely Sydney!!!
Hey Dave, Come to Sydney and we'll look after you. Currently in Bahrain on our way home to Ireland for Christmas. Just spent 3 days in Singapore. Fantastic place!!! Happy Christmas. Stay in the hotle Cartagena in Cartagena. I will be staying under the name Jack Colten. Later.
20th December 2006

where to settle down for three months
Dave, Get back to Bariloche, Argentina. You may think it is quiet or touristy; but it is full of things to do when you need a break from working, has great wine and plenty of places off the beaten path for you to hide out and work in! Good luck!

Tot: 0.367s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1989s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb