My type of city


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Barranquilla
May 8th 2019
Published: May 8th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Actually, not Baranquilla itself, but Puerto Colombia, 16 kms West of Baranquilla center. This is a small city with almost no tourists in view, with beach front and a long "malecon", (boardwalk along the sea). This city is a getaway for families of big Baranquilla. The atmosphere is relaxed and it's quite safe with all the families and children around. The ocean color is not Caribbean turquoise but it's okay.

Along the malecon, many artists painted benches and other objects.

The small animated center is one street inland of malecon. The hotel we stayed was Hotel Boutique Porto Bello. It's by far, the nicest hotel around! We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, and all weekenders left the hotel, so we were alone for 2 days! With all the personnel to ourselves, we felt like movie stars! We decided at last minute to come to this town, but I was pleased, because I had no expectations and it went well.

-------

In this trip, i didn't know in advance how much far I would drive. I planned to checked road conditions and infrastructure and decide. Like I mentioned before, because it was not that great overall, I decided to shorten the distances driven. It was out of the question to go to Medellin or Bogota!!! Maybe later, If I come back, I would take internal flights between cities and rent car or take the bus there.

But frankly, having visited so much in latin america, I was not attracted to anything else in Colombia, except maybe to the llanos, to see wildlife.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb