Primeros pasos...


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
March 5th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So we've arrived! And from how things have turned out so far this promises to be a rather interesting trip:

1) the immigration guy at Akl Intl Airport wanted dating tips from me as he thought I'd picked Caitlin up in the terminal. He then proceeded to give us instructions on how to smuggle cocaine.... and tips on where to go to find it...

2) we were given a shot of tequila by a guy at regency duty free who wanted to come along... and it didn't taste that bad (considering my last encounters with tequila)

3) Caitlin has been wooed by the local policemen already (our hostel is a few doors down from the station, and we've been here less than 5 hours)

Other than that it is hot and dry. Our hostel seems quiet and safe so far, though there is a pool table which I will injure myself on should I be foolish enough to try... we have not found the cat or the dog called sausage 😞

Smells - a mixture of that big city smell and something else I haven't quite worked out

Sounds - Spanish words that I eavesdrop whilst walking through the city, without pausing long enough to hear a whole sentence

Taste - completos - the Chilean variation on hot dogs. Ours included tomato salsa, avocado, lotsa mayo & mustard

Touch - my skin feels tight from the plane and the heat... greasy & sweaty where my backpack and jandals straps have rubbed

Sights - Some really cool statuary at the Palacio de la Moneda. One was like a horse made of sticks - very cool. Also noteworthy were the palace guards in their crisp white uniforms.. and yes Caitlin got a photo with one of them!

Feeling - hot! hot! hot! a little dazed, a little confused, very exhausted

More sense tomorrow?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.6kb