What's new


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
January 27th 2009
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while since I have posted. I have been pretty busy actually. We are starting to come into the end (or winding down of) summer break so at the institute, we more students enrolling, thus more classes. I picked up another 4 classes, so I am up to 9. I still have a pretty nice schedule - with a few hours here and there. I have the afternoons free, usually from 11am-5 or 6pm. I like work though, it' fun. I had a surprise the other day when I went to work and found out that one of my new classes was a KIDS CLASS! AAH! There are two kids (private classes through the institute) one is 9 and one is 11. Neither of them want to be there and the boy has severe ADD . . . but anyway, I go through the hour and finish up - exhausted! The other classes are amazing - one in particular is really fun!!! I teach the vocabulary hour to this class and it's interesting to try to explain words, in English, to people that are learning English . . . . very challenging!

Speaking of work, I now have 4 private classes that I teach in my apartment. One is someone who lives in my building, the other is a referral from him. The other two are people that have answered advertisements on classifieds postings. Two of them are 2 days a week and the other two are 3 days a week. So, I charge 10,000 peso / hour so I made 100,000 peso / week extra - SWEET! I almost make more teaching privates than I do at work . . . well, if I have 4 more students, I will make exactly the same.

On a more disturbing note, I went to a foam party last weekend. It is not my typical scene but I was invited and bored so thought, what the heck! After being in foam for 4 or 5 hours, I was cold and wet and went home. I took a shower and woke up the next morning to find my face hurting, red, and peeling - like a bad sunburn. I am allergic to the foam! EEK! My face is still healing!

I love the fact that everything in the markets here is sooo fresh! They only get enough food in to last the day so some days they run out of produce, but it's nice to know it's fresh. Also, things last a really really long time. I bought vegetables about a week and a half ago and they are still good and ripe!! Weird! Also, I FINALLY found black pepper!!!!!!

Well, this is an update of my life from the past few days! I hope everyone is doing well! Can you believe it's been a month since I have been here . . . I have a 3 month contract at work and was just told the other day that I need to begin the process of getting temporary resident status if I want to stay longer . . .what to do 😊!! I am sure you can guess what I am thinking! Enjoy the picture of the foam party - yuck!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb