Incense!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
March 7th 2009
Published: March 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just logged on - after Geoff badgered me - to post a new blog and realized it has been 39 days since I last posted! WHERE has time time gone? It's bizarre actually that it was over a month ago. I have to renew my tourist visa after three months. When I arrived, it seemed like it was forever away and now, I realize that I only have 2 more weeks to do so. So, I will be taking a lovely weekend trip across the border to Argentina (Mendoza - the closest city to Chile) to renew it. The process of renewal is simple - just leave the country and return! Well, it's a good excuse to visit another country and see Barbara's homeland (my Argentinian friend from Boston).

What else is new? Well, I have developed a serious addiction to incense and empanadas. The incense comes from my lack of 'plata' or money and inability to purchase candles, which are freakishly expensive here (probably the most expensive thing in the country next to cream cheese). Well, a friend of mine gave me a stick of incense to try and it's great! It seems different here as its not the hippie incense that you smell burning in places like Spencer's gifts or any other tacky store in the US. It's very nice! Anyway, that's my new thing!

Empanadas are my new favorite food! They're great! Although, there is one olive in each one, which isn't pitted. So, when you eat them, you have to be very careful- I found out the hard way! My other new favorite food is Palta, or Guacamole - I don't know why it has a special name, but leave it to the Chileans to be dificult! Anyway, it's great too!

My brother is graduating in May, so I will be back in the US in May for a visit. I will probably do 4 or 5 days in Indiana and another 3ish in Boston and maybe 1 or 2 in New York, depending on what continent Geoff is in.

Well, I think that's about it! Things are going great here and I still love it! I do think it's a bit depressing that 39 days worth of material fits into about 5 paragraphs - oh well! I guess that means I am taking it easy and relaxing! Oh, I stopped at the farmacia the other day and weighted myself. I am down to 180!!! YAYYY! Finally at my goal weight - actually a little below! Now, it's time to work on definition!

I have been up to some secret antics, which only a few know about. I will reveal the secret in the coming days, so be waiting!! It's very exciting! I hope you all are doing well and I will see you soon! Check back more often. I promise I will start updating regularly again! At least once a week!!!



Love,

Nicholas

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb