My week in review . . .


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
January 15th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's been a pretty good week so far! I finished training - finally and am now teaching classes. It is the summer so I am not working full time just yet. As new classes are added, they will be assigned to me. Right now I have 7 classes that I teach at various times throughout the week. It's nice because I still have breaks in my day to do whatever I want, rest, tan by the pool (which by the way, just from walking around, I am about 10 shades darker!).

Also, Matt is here this week. We have had a good week. When he arrived, he and my friend Daniel went out to a club. Then, the next night, Daniel made Chilean Empenadas - they were good - see the attached picture - lol! We also went to the top of Cerro San Cristobal (Santiago's Highest 'hill'). There is a 8 story of the Virgin Mary and a huge outdoor church that overlooks all of Santiago. It was pretty interesting. They call her the Madre of Santiago (mother of Santiago) as she is supposed to protect the city. To get to the top, we had to take a really bizarre teleférico - ski lift, which had enclosed and sealed capsules. It was SO hot, I thought I was going to pass out and it took about 15 minutes to reach the top. By the way, Cerro San Cristobal is the closest mountain to my house, you can see it in my other pictures . . . On the way to the top, I saw the Sheraton Santiago too - YAY! It was really wild to see just how tall the Andes are. They look big from my balcony but to be up that high and see just how much they tower over the city was pretty amazing.

I uploaded some pictures. . . . some things to take note about. There is a perminant flame thrower that collects money from people parked at the red light outside of my building. Also, there was a full moon the other night. My mother is obsessed with the moon so I took that picture. The rest of the pictures are from Cerro San Cristobal and going out with my friends.

Beyond this, there isn't a lot more to report.

Love,

Nicholas


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb