My leaky Manga!! EEK!!!!!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
January 9th 2009
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nothing too notable has happened the past few days, so I will just quickly fill you all in on the most notable events of the past few days. First, I was in the shower and . . . the hose broke! EEK!!! So, I went to buy a new one at Fallabella (a department store) and not knowing the word for 'shower hose or whatever' I explained I need ''la cosa de que puede duchar' - the thing with which you shower. She got it, thank god -and informed me it's called a manga! Great, I have a broken manga on my hands - sounds like I need an antibiotic not a hardware store, right? Well, I walked down to the local Ferreteria (hardware store, NOT FERRET STORE) LOL! Anyway, all is well - I got it replaced and my landlord is taking the $15 I spent to fix it off my rent next month - SWEET!

I am having my first visitor this week. My friend Matt, who lives in San Francisco is coming tomorrow! I am not sure what we will do yet, but I do have the whole weekend off and next week I am still on a training schedule so will have a lot of free time!! I talked to my friend Rodrigo, who speaks English' and he is going to play tour guide for us. . . . YIPPI!!

Other than than that, I cleaned my apartment for the first time today! I got to go buy my favorite things at the market, cleaning supplies! WOO HOO!! Note, 'pledge' smells like WD40 . . . so I had to go back and get air freshener. . . Also, I did a little shopping for food for the next few days and had a craving for a tomato w/ cream cheese sandwich. Over in the cheese aisle, I noticed that what I am guessing is the most expensive thing in the store (costing 3000 peso or $5 +/-) was Philadelphia cream cheese. Maybe I stand alone, but I think it's funny that the 'expensive imported cheese' comes from Philadelphia, USA! I settled for the local (unrefrigerated) brand for 415 pesos!

Check back after the weekend for some pics of my tour around Santiago w/ Matt and Rodrigo!

Love,

Nicholas

Advertisement



11th January 2009

Enjoy
I love reading about your adventures. Seems to me you are on vacation---I have never had a "job" that was this fun and exciting. Enjoy it all. You know what I have always told you...you have a long time to be old and just a short time to be young. Live it up and have fun. I can't wait until I come to visit. Be careful and keep exploring the world. Love you always, Mom
10th February 2009

Exotic dairy foods...
I don't think my tummy could handle all the unrefrigerated dairy products! Doesn't it make you sick? Anyway, I love reading these! Keep writing!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb