First day of work . . . and cookies!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, I finally started work - after 19 days off! I was starting to get bored . . . and spending way too much money to stay entertained. Anyway - I have a pretty sweet training scheduled. For the next two weeks, I go in at 2:30 for 2 hours of training, then I observe two 1-hour evening classes from 7-9 . . . not bad, eh?

The actual teaching seems like it will be fun. It basically reminds me of hosting a housekeeping meeting - talking very slowly and over-enunciating - so, I should be good at that! The course material is perfectly outlined and structures, so there is very little prep work that goes into teaching. Luckily, I am able to be as creative as I want to present the material as long as I covered what is expected - I am looking forward to that!

There are between 5 and 8 students in each class and most are 30+ business people looking to further their careers by learning English.The overall structure is basically a lot of repetition both from me and the students. There is no Spanish to be spoken in the classroom, that includes a student asking a question in Spanish and the teacher giving a response in English, simply translating a word, etc. It is complete immersion and there is no written work, all oral, which is supposed to be one of the best ways to learn a language. I can believe it because when I was taking Spanish classes, we did a lot of writing - now, I can write and understand but can't speak very well because I am used to taking as much time as I need to write out a response.

On a funny note - I went to make some cookies this morning - Chocolate chip. I had everything mixed up and ready to go, when I realized the oven wasn't in Fahrenheit. . . what is 350 in Celsius?? LOL!!!! Anyway, thank god for Google - it's 177c, in case you were interested!

Well, I just wanted to give a quick update of my first day.

Love,

Nicholas

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb