Cook in Rio - Yeah right


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Start Ipanema BeachStart Ipanema BeachStart Ipanema Beach

Here is the beginning of Ipanema beach
Well, I will explain the title shortly but as usual I will start with the person who stays in my mind and heart - Mum is still in WDHB , sadly she is critical but fights on. It has certainly been a bit of a roller coaster ride for all concerned, we have our up days and our down days - it is time for the up days so hopefully they will come soon. If Sharon is reading this to you - then remember that we are thinking of you and would be with you if we could.

Anyway starting to feel better today, am over the worst day of the cold and yesterday was a fairly flat day with absolutely no photos from me. Today there are a few, we went for a walk this morning to the start of Ipanema beach for a paddle, it was another beautiful day here and it was very clear, not now as it has smogged up a bit, hundreds of Brazillians were out early queueing up to get into Copocabana fort - this is where the G +20 conference is on, and this is what we can see out our window, looks
Ipanema and Leblon BeachIpanema and Leblon BeachIpanema and Leblon Beach

All the way to the end
like a nice place to visit but maybe another year when the queue is not so long.

Now for the title, as some may know I like to cook and all will know I like food, so I booked into a class "Cook in Rio", it is just down the beach from where we are staying, about 40minutes or so or an hour as I went. I walked down the beach as the road I was looking for is off the main beach road, now there is one street where the street name is gone and it actually does not quite connect to the main road - so I walked past it to the end of the Copacabana beach- never even thinking that that was the one I wanted. Anyway I can now say I have walked the beaches from Leme to Copacabana to Ipanema to Leblon, but that is a side issue. So I found the road eventually, found the apartment and then rang the bell - no one home - I was early as always but no one was home, eventully I got hold of someone and they said they had sent me a message saying the
Sugar Loaf from the Start of IpanemaSugar Loaf from the Start of IpanemaSugar Loaf from the Start of Ipanema

I think if we were there now it would not be visible because of the smog
only class was friday - no good to me as we will be in Iguazu then - so no cooking today. Well here are a few pictures from today.

Ian

PS just watched an airforce / army helicopter cruising past the window - and below the height of the top apartments - it has been cruising around. I get the impression the conference / talk fest is getting close to the end as the number of police and army has increased.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Big J WatchesBig J Watches
Big J Watches

Again this is from the start of Ipanema beach - big J can be seen watching over the city of Rio
Coconut on the BeachCoconut on the Beach
Coconut on the Beach

Robyn told us to have one on the beach at Ipanema
More Beach BumsMore Beach Bums
More Beach Bums

Got to admire the Brazilians, they are out there and proud. And still I am not tempted to where my Speedos


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb