Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
July 15th 2005
Published: May 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

The Theatre

Argentina - 6 Months






I returned to Argentina after cycling from John O Groats to Landsend and spent 3 weeks in Buenos Aires seeing what the night life was all about, and also falling in love with steaks and red wine. From there I went to Cordoba where I decided to stay for 2 months to spend some time improving my Spanish by going out and socializing as much as possible, I made lots of friends while practising. During these months I found time to see where Che grew up as a toddler and to do a little paragliding.



After Cordoba I travelled North to Salta to meet another friend and to hire a car with a guy from Holland in order to follow the route of the "Train to the Clouds", which crosses the Andes into Chile passing at an elevation of over 14,000ft. We hired a car because the train is now a tourist attraction and was too expensive and also we were able to combine other areas to see like the Salt Flats near Purmamarca and the valley "Cerro de los Siete Colores" with many different coloured rocks in it.
Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

Protests





I was heading North to enter Bolivia, for a quick trip, so that I could get another 3 month visa for Argentina. I visited Tupiza, Potosi and Sucre before returning to Argentina. (see Bolivia blog)




Once back in Argentina I stopped in Salta for a few days and took advantage of a cheap special offer to do Bungy jumping, which was made far scarier than I had anticipated due unenthusiastic staff and a rather flimsy looking knot.


I did survive and headed back to Cordoba stopping at Cafayate and TafĂ­ del Valle, close to Tucuman, for a number of days to appreciate the area with its beautiful sedimentary rock formations and many vinyards.


I visited the very green Tucuman for a few days of investigation and then La Falda, a tiny village 8km North of Catamarca to go cactus hunting. We found some cactus and tried to feel the psychedelic effects. I passed Cordoba and Rosario before visiting Uruguay on my way to Buenos Aires where I passed 3weeks over the Christmas and New Year period.



In the new year, 2005 I traveled through Uruguay,
Buenos AiresBuenos AiresBuenos Aires

Argentinian Congress
through Brazil to Paraguay to Boilvia, onto Peru, Chile and then Back to Argentina, crossing the Andes from the Atacama region to Salta. From Salta I again spent time visiting friends and going out, then I flew to Colombia for 6 weeks only to return to Buenos Aires to meet my dad.


When Dad left I went to Brazil a final time before coming back to Buenos Aires to fly home to the UK.


As you can see I was switching between countries, going back and forth, I think I went to Argentina 6 times for a total of about 6 months. I love this country and it still remains one of my favourites on the globe.










Additional photos below
Photos: 86, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

More protests
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

Recoleta cemetry
Buenos Aires - Recoleta CemetryBuenos Aires - Recoleta Cemetry
Buenos Aires - Recoleta Cemetry

Tombs for the rich and famous
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

Recoleta cemetry
Buenos Aires - La BocaBuenos Aires - La Boca
Buenos Aires - La Boca

A really nice colourful neighbourhood
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

The freemasons are here aswell, look at their symbolism
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

So many protest
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

la casa rosada - the government building
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

Old vs New
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

The government must be shit
Buenos AiresBuenos Aires
Buenos Aires

Such a great nightlife, so many times I saw dawn break
CorobaCoroba
Coroba

The cutest building I could find
CordobaCordoba
Cordoba

The hotel where I stayed for 2 months
CordobaCordoba
Cordoba

The hostel owner who helped me learn mucho
CordobaCordoba
Cordoba

The hotel dog and my best friend for 2 months


Tot: 0.569s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb