The end of the World!!! (the blog now coincides with my location)


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now to get up to date on my blog before i leave tomorrow for bariloche. Arturo, David and I have reached the end of the world, or at least the most south city in all of Argentina, so called el fin del mundo Usuaia. It is a very nice port with amazing mountains in the background. It is relatively small but the saturation of tourists is high as most trips to Antarctica part from here. I’ll save that trip for another day as the cheapest one is 5 grand.

Yesterday we headed out on two tours, on leaving at 7am and the other in the early afternoon. The first tour was to go to an island filled with penguins. The island had two types of penguins that all were all at an arms length away. It was incredible I felt as if I were on some sort of expedition, and had it not been for the marked paths it would have looked like we were the first people on the island. The whole thing was covered in penguins, big ones and little ones that were shedding their initial coat of feathers for those that will be waterproof. The whole time you listened to the parents calling each other as they each took turns watching the kids while the other went to the ocean to eat. It seemed as if everyone was hungry because they were all very vocal. I couldn’t believe that the island is privately owned.. kind of weird and probably wouldn’t happen at a similar place at home, but it was definitely a respected area and they took care to try to not bother the penguins.

Between tours I paid for my flight to bariloche, as you can book flights with this specific company online, but you cannot pay anywhere but the office. I took a number, left to grab lunch and still had 20 minutes to spare when I got back to the office. The lines are always long at aerolineas argentines….

The next tour was out into the Beagle Straight and out to islands filled with 2 types of cormorants and the big kahuna…… SEA LIONS… it was awesome. The boat ride was for a couple hours, we stopped and walked around on one island and finished the day with a snack and some beer from the keg that they had on the boat… it was a small keg(and boat), but nonetheless was pretty cool. Quite a busy day followed by a long night/morning of touring the town….. tomorrow I head for bariloche where I am going to try to take a Spanish class for a week… that’s it for now….


Advertisement



21st January 2009

Rock for my collection...
If you see an interesting rock for my collection.... thanks.

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb