Last week in Sri Lanka


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas
September 15th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bec’s Birthday Beach Party, 12 September

I am sure the photos will speak for themselves. It was a good night, plenty of cocktails and vodka (which is evil), dancing and fire throwing!

The day after was not that pretty. I managed drag my sorry body to the beach where a sea bath always fixes a sore head. A very slow day and I was very keen to get back into bed and wake up feeling like a normal person again.

This week is my last in Sri Lanka, however I firmly believe there will be a time when I return as I have had a great time and so pleased that I was able to do something I enjoy and to contribute to a project where a real difference has been made. The people are friendly and generous with what they have and go out of their way to make you feel special.

I have to say goodbye to the Women’s class today which will be a little sad as they are all such lovely people, the coaches are inspiring and ensure that I am included in everything. Our languages are no longer a barrier anymore, we use as much of each others language to get the message across and of course, sign language is invaluable.

I have a dinner invitation to Bubba and his wife’s house tonight, so that should be good. I am sure she is a great chef. She has already started to grind me some special pepper for me to take home, I think her family has some kind pepper farm....anyway, they have a lot of it and everyone wants it. The generosity is overwhelming.

And, this morning, Chami took me to his house to meet his mother and daughter. It was nice to know he felt comfortable taking me there and it was great to be able to thank his mum in person for all those lunch packets she has made for me over the past few months!





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Bec's FamilyBec's Family
Bec's Family

Upendra, Wipila, Sudu and Bec


15th September 2009

12 September
I know how black you get in the sun, but even I am suprised at how brown you are!! You look like a local, especially next to Bec. What a fun place - I bet you are going to miss your lunch packets everyday!
15th September 2009

Well done Phip! My gosh look how brown you are!!!!!
15th September 2009

Phip, looks like you have had fun, looking forward to having you home enjoy your last week Roz xx
15th September 2009

Brown!
You are SO ridiculously brown, there should be a law against it! I bet you are sad to be leaving. I hope it's not too difficult for you to settle back in when you get home. I'm sure darling Rex will be jumping out of his skin when he sees you! That will make you feel glad to be home, for sure.
15th September 2009

Brown
The colour is a hazard of the job! Believe it not I have been sitting in the shade when possible and don't lie in the direct sun on the weekends....I am also hoping to fade a little in the next 5 days....we'll see how that works out.
15th September 2009

Loving your blogs Phip. Good to live a life through someone else!! Man oh man what a sun tan!! I'm back in Aust in October for 2 weeks so hope to catch up again. K
21st September 2009

Hey Flipper, you look fantastic. No orange spray tan for you! Your blogs have been so much fun to read - I will miss them. Will catch up when you start you new job.

Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.2007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb