Carrying on from where I left off a few days ago...


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
September 9th 2009
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Carrying on from the tour with the girls, Sal and I came back to Unawatuna for a few days before she flew home and I flew off to Malaysia for a visa run. We spent our time on the beach, wandering around the fort, or for me with a stomach bug again on the last day of Sal’s visit! Luckily it was wet and miserable anyway, so it was a reading, chatting and sleeping day. Our driver, Sam picked us up promptly at midnight for our trip to the airport and to go our separate ways.

I had 3 days in KL shopping for baby clothes for George and Sully’s little muppet, who would be about 3 weeks old now. Things are very cheap in KL and I think I may have bought quite enough for the next few months of her little life. I also needed a tidy up in the eyebrow department, so I found a beauty place and asked for an eyebrow wax, halfway through the process I had a terrible thought that I said ‘eyebrow wax’ and not made it clear that it was a tidy up of my current mishapen eyebrows, I was beginning to
Self portraiting with SumithSelf portraiting with SumithSelf portraiting with Sumith

I took many many photos, he didnt like any of them!
dread what I was to see or not as the case may be….but it was all good, in fact they did a great job for a lot less than I pay at home.

Now it is back to work as usual and wrapping up my part of the project. The boys from the pool seemed pretty happy to see me again, which is nice. It is all feeling very familiar and will almost be odd not to be here soon!

Last Friday was another Poya day, so a public holiday for most. A long weekend after 2 weeks holiday seems a bit decadent, but who am I to complain? We could learn something from the Buddhists I think!

I have only 2 weeks left here, it has all gone so fast, soon my time will be a distant memory, but one I will keep locked in my heart!

And, I think at some point, I will come back here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



9th September 2009

I'll come back with you next time! I'd love to have seen those baby elephants at the orphanage. You will have a tough time settling back into 'Western' life again when you return. Savour the rest of the time you have there...you don't know how long it will take before you can return.
9th September 2009

Hi Phip!!
Hi Phip Have been following your trip, and it sounds as though it really has been a great experience. Love hearing all that you are doing. When are you coming home? It would be great to organise a catch-up with just a few of us. I missed the last big reunion and would love to see everyone again. Keep on enjoying yourself! Ness xxx

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb