The final chapter


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Galle
September 20th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cake!Cake!Cake!

Sri Lankan cakes looker better than they taste...
So long, farewell, auf wierdersehen, goodbye!

The boys at the pool planted a fruit tree and called it The Skipper tree at the pool so they could remember me every day. It really was incredible touching and totally unexpected, Chami made me a special lunch packet and bought me a gift! For people with very little money it shows what kind of hearts these guys have!

In fact, everyone that made an effort to say goodbye was incredibly generous and overwhelming and there are so many things I will miss.

My time in Sri Lanka has been something very special and there are no words to really describe what it meant to me, but I have to say it is great to be home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

PlantingPlanting
Planting

Planting the tree with Priyantha and Jeevan
Amazingly...Amazingly...
Amazingly...

Incredible but true there are experts everywhere across the world!
The pool boysThe pool boys
The pool boys

Planting the skipper tree.
Sunset from the Lighthouse HotelSunset from the Lighthouse Hotel
Sunset from the Lighthouse Hotel

Bec took me out for dinner at the flash hotel in Galle! Very nice...


25th September 2009

Sampai Jumpar Lagi
That was very sweet of them all to give you such a lovely send-off. I suppose you will be feted if you ever return...rose petals, peeled grapes etc. I know you will remember the place fondly, but as you say, it must be great to be home. :)

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb