Crossing the Pond - 2


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
March 18th 2015
Published: March 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The Blue AtlanticThe Blue AtlanticThe Blue Atlantic

The Pacific has nothing on the Atlantic today.
Good morning Mr. and Mrs. America and all the ships at sea. The skies are blue, the sea is calm and we are sailing into the sunrise. My coffee arrived on time and, MaryLou, they brought your milk as ordered. Habits die hard. A gift of chocolate covered strawberries arrive from my TA but since I am allergic I will have to find someone to share with.



Today's plans are vague. Our Meet and Great is at 10, a Texas Hold 'em tournament at 11:30, then maybe pool time. Until then I will relax and watch the sea traffic. The seas are calm but there is a little movement so I know we left the dock. I love it! So far we have passed two tankers.



It is now 8:00 so I had better get ready for the day, starting with a walk on deck. I am determined to escape the winter slug mode and get back some stamina. I walked until my knee shouted UNCLE, returned to the cabin to change, went to the Lido for my smoked salmon and headed to the Crow's Nest for the CruiseCritic Meet and Greet. Shared the chocolate covered strawberries with my fellow CC'rs.



The IT person guided me to the internet and then I headed to the Promenade Deck for some reading and sea gazing. Before I knew it, it was Noon and lunch time with other singles and solo cruisers. Sat next to an amazing lady who admitted to be 96 and is sailing with her son. She was a delight to visit with, reminiscing her childhood in Arizona, her marriage to a Boston Irish Catholic Harvard boy. His parents thought she was a cowgirl until they actually met her.



Soon it time for Trivia and while our team did well with 12 points, the winner was a solo man with an astounding 18, one short of perfect. Changed into my bathing suit and headed for the Sea View pool for a little vitamin D. Headed back to the cabin to sit on the balcony and read and soon it was time to dress for dinner. Enjoyed Happy Hour with a fun couple from Dallas and John and Marilyn from yesterday's lunch. Faces are becoming familiar.



Dinner tonight was Corned Beef and Cabbage, of course. It was OK but nothing near to what my sister-in-law Terry used to make. Unable to find cinnamon ice cream, my table steward substituted French vanilla ice cream sprinkled with cinnamon. Perfect! Being St. Patrick's day the bars were rocking and a pub crawl was scheduled for later in the evening. Not anything going on that I wanted to do so and since it was a full day with no nap time I headed back to the room for a lovely gentle rocking to sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.5kb