Crossing the Pond - 2015


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Sargasso Sea
March 17th 2015
Published: March 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

OK. I admit it. I love to fly. Not the trek to the airport, or the security lines, not hoping to find a free space in the overhead or that my seat mate might be Samoan.....but when I look out of the window at the clouds or the lights below, it is still magic to me. Here I am at 35,000 feet traveling to another adventure. I do miss the pillows and the blankets, I do miss having room to stretch out but I will be in FL in 2:49 hours. I have my own seat and no one is asking "are we there yet". I hear it's 81 degrees and I think of a pool and green shrubs and I'm a happy camper. In two days I'll be boarding the M/S Zuiderdam where I expect to be pampered for fifteen glorious days. In the mean time, my hotel awaits.



Arriving a couple of days early is a benefit awarded by retirement and necessitated by the winter weather. Last January, I flew to Chicago, where my connection was missed and rerouted to Charlotte where I spent a lovely four hours and arrived at my hotel just in time to catch a couple of hours before boarding the ship. Not my idea of a great start.





Discovered that I have stayed at my hotel before. It's a good choice except for the lack of a restaurant. It is a long but doable walk to local spots but I decided to stay in. Happily found out that the barman makes chicken wings and pepperoni pizza so I was content to "dine" in. I will be royally fed once on board. Woke up to sunshine and warm and humid Florida weather. Sure felt good. The hotel is filled with folks sailing. There are five vessels in port. It must be spring break somewhere as the families and the college age kids were abundant. Right after a light breakfast I headed for the pool. The sun was behind the building and the warm air sure felt good.





There was a little girl about five that reminded me of myself at the age. She was obviously an only child but unlike me she was a water rat. For a least an hour she amused herself, making up games and challenges, playing with a little plastic fish and making up stories and just enjoying her imagination. The best part is that her parents were there but not interfering with her play. Just letting her discover her inner world. Brilliant.



The barman here is an interesting character. He is educated, well read, speaks as least two languages, has an interest in current events and provided a couple of hours of great craic (in honor of the upcoming St. Patrick's Day). He is so overqualified for the job and had worked in Corporate for a while and hated it. Didn't pry and ask why he was doing this job but I suspect he is going to school during the day.



Embarkation was a breeze, With priority boarding I was on board at 11:45 and at lunch by 12:00. My luncheon table mates were funny and smart. John and Marilyn from Chicago and Richard and Joyce from Texas. By the time lunch was over my bag had arrived and I was settled in before 1:30. I think that is a record.



The safety drill proceeded without a hitch. Sail away is scheduled for four. I watched the ship being loaded for a while then sat on my balcony reading. Four came and went. The captain announced we would be delayed. I checked the pier again and saw that they were loading pallets of plywood, long, heavy poles of some kind, bundles of lumber 30 feet long and what looked like steel generator supports. All this is material for the upcoming dry-dock after this cruise ends in Italy. We sailed at 6:00, well provisioned and bunkered with something like 50 tons of fuel.





Dinner tonight was a delight. I am at a table for eight. Only six of us showed up and we are all singles or solos. Mike and Stuart, Rosetta and Eleanor, Patty and I had a really good time and blended easily. I'm thinking this will be a fun group. Settled on chilled banana soup and a delicious prime rib. No cinnamon ice cream tonight but promised for the rest of the cruise. We all ordered different desserts and every one enjoy a sample except me. Not one for dessert except for my cinnamon ice cream.



Strolled about the ship but nothing appealing was happening so I headed to my stateroom to read. Soon I was fast asleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.5kb