lazy days and crocodiles


Advertisement
Oceania
April 10th 2010
Published: April 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This morning I was up and about long before Julie, who was a tad delicate. After our regular 2 hour chat we went for a dip in the pool. I being still of British stock walked in saying "ah this is lovely" Julie on the other hand has become an Ozzie big girls blouse !!! "oooooo its freezing, oooooo its too cold" she moaned .............. come on girl remember where your roots are - Manchester !!! its always cold and wet there.

We had a verrry lazy morning doing nothing but pool and sunning ourselves and a few drinks both hot and cold. I did hang out the washing ....... I was exhausted after.

Then Julie and Myself went 10 mins down the road to Harley crocadile park. It was really really good, a smallish park that has lots of stuff to do. We went on a boat trip on the creek to look for crocks, and crocks we saw aplenty .... dozens if them, all swimming around the boat. The guide fed them and made them jump out of the water ! very impressive and very brave.

Then we saw a crocodile show that again was very good, lots of making the crock jump up and do death rolls - very very strong animals !!! I hate to say this but it was far better than the show in Steve Irwins zoo as this park was all natural inviroment and rouged and Steve Irwins zoo is very clean and clinical in comparison. So sorry Steve but you should have taken a leaf out of this parks ethos.

We also saw a koala that was fully awake !!! eating and moving around which is very unusual as the sleep for about 20 hours per day. Snakes, and various lizzards, and birds. One of the birds was called a Cassoway its a huge bird Emu size with a small head that has a 4 inch horny helmet on the top ot it - plus a long coral coloured wottle that dangled about 9 inches down ( I know your thinking I;m making this up, but I'm not - google Cassoway and you'll see it) Infact there are so few left in the wild that according to Julie theyre more endangered than the Panda !!!

so 10/ 10 for Harley park.

Then we got home and David said he was taking us all out for dinner ..... yum yum I say . We went down to Port Douglas marina to a lovely restaurant that was on stilts on the marina. But first he took Tom and me to see a HUGE fish that comes into the marina every evening to be fed by one of the staff from the restaurant. And he was HUGE about 6 feet long, and boy could he thrash about grabbing the bait.

David bought me a champagne cocktail that was quite delicious and much to Julies amusment i had bangers and mash ..... whats wrong with that ??? Julie and David shared a seafood platter which included oysters, "Ive never had oysters I said" Julie gives me one and tells me how to eat it, Davids on photo duty to capture the moment ........... I looked, I sniffed, then I held the shell up to my nouth and went for it .......................UGH disgusting, disgusting, disgusting (I'm even pulling a face typing this, reliving the experience) n aphrodisiac is beond me !!!!

Home for a leisurly hang out session with Julie on the varanda.

I'm off to bed now .... last day with the Richardsons tomorrow 😞

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx





Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.3kb