Island Hopping


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
February 22nd 2015
Published: February 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning feeling a bit sad that we were already leaving the North Island. We had so much fun there! We were off to an early start, having to drive four hours to Wellington to catch our afternoon ferry. We made it in plenty of time, stopping for lunch at Subway on the way down. Familiarity is good when you don't have much time. It was an intermittently rainy, sunny, foggy day. It was actually chilly enough on the ferry that jeans and a rain jacket felt good - weird in summertime! The ferry was beautiful despite the low visibility. Aaron really wanted to go find a comfortable seat inside where it was warm and dry, but I couldn't bring myself to go inside when 1. I can sit inside all winter in the US, 2. I may never be on a ferry crossing the Cook Straight ever again, and 3. Someone told us earlier in the day that if we were lucky we may see dolphins along the journey. I wish I could load videos because we had seals and dolphins playing in the water alongside our ferry several times along the way. So much fun to see!!! I think he forgave me for causing him to be wet and cold on the three hour trip when he saw where we were going. Picton is beautiful! Tomorrow we will be doing an all day kayaking trip here. Can't wait!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb