Exploring Manpouri


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Manapouri
February 23rd 2013
Published: February 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I have a day off, and armed with a bike, helmet and a map, courtesy of John, Caroline’s husband, I set off on my cycle to the nearest town – Manapouri. The bike is in need of some tlc – gears don’t change all the time, and it definitely needs some wd-40, but I eventually reach Manapouri. The views on the way are of grassland and cows….. I could easily be in Wales, especially as it is overcast and fairly chilly (well I am wearing a long sleeve thin jacket). So as I cycle past a campsite, the odd café dotted here and there, and a cluster of house I guess I have arrived. I follow some signs to the tourist information, but this turns out to be only an information centre for the cruises to Milford and Doubtful sound. With nothing else here, I head back up the hill to cycle out and find a little walking track through the woodland which I follow and it leads to Fraser’s beach. The beach is alongside the lake (lake Manapouri). This massive lake is as still as a mill pond, and the views are stunning. I bug spray up as I am surrounded by sand flies, and settle down and read my book for a while. There are a few boats out on the lake, one towing a waterskier, but the lake is so big you can hardly hear them, so I watch them whilst eating my sandwich before heading back.

On the cycle back, which is more enjoyable than on the way out, I stop at Rainbow Reach, an entrance to the Kepler track. After stowing the bike, I cross the big suspended bridge across the river, and spend an hour or so walking on the track admiring the views – all the mist and cloud has burnt off now, and it has turned into a glorious and rather hot day (28 degrees). It makes for a rather warm cycle home, but as it is 3pm, I am after the max UV rays, so it’s safer to be out in the sun.

When I arrive back in Te Anau (it was a 50km round trip!) I go back to the hostel, and enjoy the late afternoon sun down by the lake with a well-deserved ice cream. After a while, I head in for a swim, and as I emerge I realise I have a small audience of around 10 people watching me! They all dissipate when I get out, and I lay in the sun with my book until I have dried off. I have a quiet eve catching up on the blog and a well needed sleep!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 3.587s; Tpl: 0.133s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.8836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1.1mb