Historic Tails of the Milford Track


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
February 24th 2013
Published: February 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My lie in didn’t occur with the other three people in my dorm in, out and packing since 6am. I get up and after a walk round the town side of the lake, I decide to treat myself to breakfast in one of the café’s – I a very yummy omelette. I have to be at the boat ramp and the end of town for 3pm to meet the teachers and help set up the camp for next week, so until that time, I spend several hours researching a bit more into my trip, thinking about different options, but mostly comparing coast of bus passes and working out the best one to get.

Caroline and I get to the boat ramp at 3pm and wait for half an hour before the teachers finally arrive – something to do with forgetting kit and school. Nether the less, we load up the speed boat with the required kit such as tents for the children to sleep in, the teachers and adults tents, the bbq, the food for the week, games and equipment etc. It’s only a short 15min or so ride across the lake but it is great fun, and provides a completely different view of Te Anau, the lake and then beyond the lake to the fiord which you can’t see from the town.

We unload the boat and ferry the bags up the beach to the area we are camping in. We then quickly set up the teachers and adults tent, pile the gear in and head out. All a lot quicker and easier than I was expecting, I head back to Carolines briefly to pick up a sleeping bag I will need, when I get back to the hostel I have just enough time to dump my things, go for a quick swim (very refreshing), get back to the hostel, shower and change before heading out to the talk this evening.

The talk this evening on the history of the Milford Track – one of the most famous walks in New Zealand is by Ray, a local hiking hero. Ray and his wife Helen are now in their 70’s and were employed by DOC (the Department Of Conservation) to be guides on the Milford Track for over 50 years. I thought the talk was going to be a to a large audience, but when I turned up and met Caroline and John, it turns out it is just to the ‘Great Walkers’ winners of the international Air New Zealand competition. The five winners were from all around the world, including one from England, and in addition to the winners there was the videographer and the representative from Air New Zealand, so I felt very privileged. It was great talking to all the winners, most of them winning due to drastic weight loss and changes in their life, and to Ray and Helen – who have so amazing stories to tell.

Ray performs his talk using an old 1950’s slide projector, and unfortunately, even after testing it, and for the first time ever the projector fails. But Ray continues, just without the pictures, informing us all about the changes on the track over the years, their experiences of it all, and we get to see the old pack he used to carry – which is so heavy, even with nothing in it, and the best of all, his real lederhosen that he used to wear when guiding. It was a really lovely evening and I feel very privileged to have heard and experienced the stories of the Milford Track from Ray and Helen themselves.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.9kb