There and Back Again


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
September 6th 2006
Published: September 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sarah-KateSarah-KateSarah-Kate

The crowning of the bride-to-be on her hen's day!
Hey!

Long time no blog I know but I've been in a wonderful little town called Sydney (as many of my friends and family know). I went back mainly for a wedding, but I also got to catch up with heaps of people. I had so many brunches, lunches, coffees, and dinners that I don't think I'll feel like eating out again for a month!

So, here's what I got up to:

I flew in a day earlier than I had told people so I could surprise Warwick. He guessed something was up with Michelle suddenly cancelled her plans with for coffee with him on Thursday and Jim rang him up 10 minutes later to invite him around on Thursday (as he was in on my plan). But I still think Warwick was a little surprised as he just stared at me for a minute when I walked in to Jim's pool room. 😊 I love surprises!

Friday night I went to see Los Van Van, the best salsa band in the world. It was very very cool, but way too crowded so it was impossible to dance. It was fantastic nonetheless and I would love to
Michelle and KristyMichelle and KristyMichelle and Kristy

Michelle's in the way of Kristy - but the photo still counts in our competition to take as many photos as possible of each other!
see them play again!

Saturday was a little more relaxing - although going out to dinner with Erin and Rhonda and then Erin adn I dancing our way to the Rocks (push the button, don't push the button) was a little more exciting, as was meeting Sam and Pat for drinks... I didn't get home till after 2am, so I didn't pretty well. I am showing my age though as we ordered a bottle of wine to share and steered clear of girly drinks. The Orient was a little sleazy though and since the dance floor is on a platform higher than the bar I really felt like we were on show (and some of the guys leering at us seemed to think so too).

Sunday was the awesome Hen's day for Sarah-Kate! We had a treasure hunt in the Rocks, which was heaps of fun, although I had a slight advantage since I had organised one for Lingo last year, so I know the Rocks inside out. I still contest that our team won, especially since we finished 30 minutes early and has fantastic dance routine... but Sarah-Kate's team were the official winners. I'm not bitter, not
Harry and ParisHarry and ParisHarry and Paris

Paris like to hide from the camera. It's very cute!
at all. :P She looked so cute in her pink tiara!

The rest of the week was taken up with catching up with people for brunches, power lunches and dinners... I didn't take many photos, except of Paris and Harry and Paul and Chris at One Earth in Willoughby. It was a really cool cafe with lovely food, although the breakfast menu was a little expensive. The chai was lovely.

So my week consisted of: Thai with Manda and Fi on Monday. Thai with Bre on Tuesday. Starbucks for lunch with Dianna. Vegetarian yum cha with Minnie and Alex (sorry Alex!). Late lunch with Bec and Ailin. Spanish dinner with Warwick and his grandmother. Coffee with Patti. Coffee with Alan. Lunch with Harry. Lunch with Mum. Wedding rehersal dinner (perks of being the best man's girlfriend - downside was not being able to sit with him at the wedding reception, although my table was very cool!)

My second Saturday there was Jim and Sarah-Kate's wedding! There were a few hiccups involving cars without petrol and broken organs, but it was lovely. Everyone looked so pretty, but my camera ran out of batteries so I don't have many photos of anyone but the bridal party, which is a shame (anyone with photos, I would love to have a copy on CD!). The food was lovely, but I wasn't that hungry, so I hardly ate anything (which helped result in a hangover the next day even though I didn't drink that much!). Dessert trolley was great as was the wedding cake (my share I left at Warwick's house, which is so very annoying!). Lots of dancing and then the looooong way home (thanks Cameron!). Very tired by the end of it! 😊 The flood gates are open...

Sunday was father's day, although I almost forgot to wish my dad a happy father's day! I gave him a book on tractors, which he loves... not sure why, but if he likes it why not! Then it was dinner at the Davidson's, where I attempted (very poorly) to hide my hangover and tiredness! More food, very yummy!

Luckily Monday and Tuesday were calmer days. I got a whole bunch of photos printed and just kinda chilled. Saw my grandma once again (she's thinking of doing postgrad study too!).

Then I flew back to my new home in NZ.
Crowded ChurchCrowded ChurchCrowded Church

'nuff said
I even got a little DVD player because the front two rows in economy can't see the video screens 😊. I watched "Thank you for smoking" which I liked although I missed some of the dialogue. I got in at about midnight and home by 12:30am. I was annoyed because I was one of he first off the plane but my bag was one of the last off the plane! Very frustrating!

Back to study and back to work tomorrow. I can't wait to get into it now I'm feeling better! 😊

Your friend in the fridge,

Sarah


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

WarwickWarwick
Warwick

Looking all handsome.
Most of the Bridal PartyMost of the Bridal Party
Most of the Bridal Party

If I'd tried to step back further to get them all in I would've backed into a table! :) But the bridesmaids were gorgeous! I promise!
CAKE!CAKE!
CAKE!

Yum!
Me!Me!
Me!

I love taking photos of myself :P
Bre and BozBre and Boz
Bre and Boz

Awww! Bre's leaving soon too :(
Oliver!Oliver!
Oliver!

How cute is he!


Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb