Kiwi Halloween


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
November 15th 2006
Published: November 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kiwi PumpkinsKiwi PumpkinsKiwi Pumpkins

Our 2 lovely "pumpkin" watermelons ( mine is on the left and shaun's is on the left)
Hello Everyone!
It has been a while since my last entry which I am sorry about however I do have new pictures to post up so that is exciting. As most of you know Halloween is my second favorite holiday, Christmas being the first. I love the excitement, the orange and black decorations, the costumes, the crispness in the air, it feels almost like magic. And clearly the candy is great as well, my favorite candy being candy corn which becomes readily available around this time. Unfortunately, though New Zealand has many great things to offer and I love being here, it does not really celebrate halloween. Walking around on Halloween day there is nothing to distinguish it from any other day. I have heard that in more residential areas some kids do trick or treat but we had no trick or treaters around my flat. Nevertheless this does not stop me from celebrating Halloween. I did not have a party this year but I did put on my halloween socks, made sugar cookies ( from scratch thank you) and used my ever growing collection of halloween cookie cutters to make some halloween cookies. ( I also made orange icing
Shaun carvingShaun carvingShaun carving

Shaun carving his first watermelon ever
from scratch as well and it actually tasted good!) I made caramel apples for my flatmates and Shaun and I carved 2 watermelons since big orange pumpkins do not grow here. The watermelons worked really well and I used them last year too, it is actually easier because there is no problem scooping out the inside, I just used a normal spoon! So here are some pictures of our watermelons which we put lights in and set out on the porch even though we were the only house to have anything like that. I just couldn't let Halloween go by without carving a face into something! I hope you like the pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My MasterpieceMy Masterpiece
My Masterpiece

Hello! My watermelon looking very happy to be a pumpkin for halloween
My Masterpiece with bowlMy Masterpiece with bowl
My Masterpiece with bowl

My watermelon next to his delicious insides
pumpkin headpumpkin head
pumpkin head

I am glad that I do not have a watermelon for a head because that would cause numerous problems, least of all being fruit flies
shaunshaun
shaun

Shaun's pumpkin watermelon looking very excited to be wearing Shaun's hat
Burning BrightBurning Bright
Burning Bright

Watermelon, watermelon burning bright In the porch steps of the night
Burning Bright 1Burning Bright 1
Burning Bright 1

Operation Watermelon Pumpkin was a complete success


15th November 2006

Halloween watermelons
Lovw youe idea using watermelons for decor. Can't eat raw pumpkins ! Berrymans visited us in Oct. The day was much too short. hOP3E ALL GOES WELL
17th November 2006

Watermelon fun at Halloween
Hi Emily and Shaun - your watermelons look great! When in Rome ... hope this finds you both fit and well. Not too long and you'll be winging across the Pacific, home for a Christmas break. Remember to come back! Love, Linda xx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb