Driving craziness


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 22nd 2005
Published: October 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Foot of Queen StreetFoot of Queen StreetFoot of Queen Street

This is Where Queen Street starts, and not far from where I'm staying
It's finally a nice sunny day here in Auckland after 3 days of dark, cloudy skies. I woke up to hear the gulls making some noise, so I figured it was nice weather.

Yesterday was interesting. I found an ad for a local car market, and figured I'd walk and check it out. Well, cars were either junk with bondo on them, or they were too expensive. I spoke with a man who was selling a station wagon (yes, they're still making them over here) He was selling it for $1600 NZ dollars seemed in good shape except for the broken mirror, cobwebs on the car, no working radio or interior lights. He told me this story about how he just had a reconditioned engine and transmission in the car. Well, call me not stupid, but I don't believe that because he couldn't produce any documentation. Then he told me that I could come South to Hamilton to get his electrical friend to look at the radio. I took advantage of the opportunity and took this little putter for a ride. Boy, driving on the other side of the road is certainly an experience. I think I scared the poor
Queen StreetQueen StreetQueen Street

Another picture of Queen Street
man! Ha ha. I'm following a couple of leads on a couple vehicles, its whether or not I can afford them. And it's wierd because the engines over here are like 1.8 Litres, or 2.0 Litres. When you're used to driving a 3.8 Litre, it's hard to get used to.
Last night I met a nice girl named Sarah from England and we just hung out at the hostel's bar to watch the last rugby match of the season. Auckland VS Otago. I can't say how much I love rugby, even though I don't understand all the rules.
I got up this morning and caught the bus out of downtown Auckland for another car fair that was being held at Ellerslie Raceway. There were many cars, and I took a couple for a test drive. I found a nice Chariot (the model name) for $2700 NZ dollars. It's well upkept, not dirty or nasty on the inside like most cars I've seen. The seats fold down so you can sleep on them, because it's a station wagon, but more like a minivan just on the smaller side. I took it for a test drive. Nice ride, and has a Warranty
Kiwi FeverKiwi FeverKiwi Fever

I found this at a local gift shop. It's just a big stuffed Kiwi. It shows how much these people love their Rugby Team, the All Blacks
of Fitness until April of next year. I'm very interested but it depends on the budget which I have to mull over this afternoon. Campervans I have discovered are too expensive, so I have to downgrade my plans a little.
I want to take the ferry over to Devonport, which is a little suburb of Auckland. The ferry costs $9 return and there is a nice walk thats in my Lonely Planet book. It's called the 2 volcanoes walk. You have no idea how hilly it is here. The streets are so steep, and by the time you're up them, you're covered in sweat and needing a shower badly.
On the bus today I drove past One Tree Hill. It's really a big hill with some sort of monument on it. Very unique. I thought about maybe heading there tomorrow, but the Department of Conservation isn't open today to get a pamphlet about the walking trail to Mt. Eden and One Tree Hill.
The cloudy pictures are from yesterday, and the sunny ones are from this morning.
And they call the pound button, the hash button. Just some useless knowlegde from NZ
Oh, and roundabouts really geniunely scare me.....



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Public TransitPublic Transit
Public Transit

A nice looking building. It's where the public transit offices are housed. And you catch the buses just off the side of it.
Marine Museum Viaduct Marine Museum Viaduct
Marine Museum Viaduct

This is a big sailboat outside the Marine Museum.
SailboatsSailboats
Sailboats

Some nice boats in the Viaduct district
SkytowerSkytower
Skytower

This is the Skytower, it may look tall, but is nothing compared to the CN tower
Princess WharfPrincess Wharf
Princess Wharf

This is from the Princess Wharf, gives you a little feelings for how big Auckland is.
View from HostelView from Hostel
View from Hostel

This is what I woke up to today. This is the 7th floor where they have the kitchen, balcony and phone to call home.
View of the SkytowerView of the Skytower
View of the Skytower

Just another shot of the Skytower from the Viaduct district.
View from Hostel 2View from Hostel 2
View from Hostel 2

This shot is facing the other way, taken this morning


23rd October 2005

Glad to see a sunny day
sounds like you are finally having a little fun. Hope you find a car soon. Its nice to follow along in your trip with you. Keep writing its good to see what you are up to.
23rd October 2005

great stuff
we really enjoy following ur adventures and look forward to them every day.wood like 2 get ur phone # so we could call u.7cts a min from can.we miss u alot but no ur having a wonderful time.take ur time and pick a good vehicle.bye 4 now.love mom and dad
23rd October 2005

Your Fans
We knew you would become a KIWI GIRL quickly!! We are enjoying your descriptive blogs, it is as if we are in KIWILAND ourselves. Keep it up. Good luck on the roundabouts!!
26th October 2005

Hey Hey Hey
glad to see your having a great time sorry i didn't get this earlier good luck don't forget us here in london...Keep it Real!:)

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb