Finally, some touristy stuff


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 24th 2005
Published: October 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Rangitoto IslandRangitoto IslandRangitoto Island

This is the beautiful view from the top of Mt Victoria. You could almost touch the clouds!
A bright sunny morning here in Auckland. Yesterday I spent the day with my new bunkmate Sarah, from the UK, and we went to a nice beach outside of Auckland called Mission Bay. It seems there's a great epidemic going on here, and it's called Ice Cream. I saw that they had a Movenpick there in Mission Bay, and the lineup was about 2 blocks long. New Zealanders love their ice cream. I layed out on the beach for a couple of hours, and enjoyed the people watching. It's a very family orientated place. Everywhere you go people have their coolers (or chilly bins as they call it here), parked on the narrowest roads, and sitting on the steepest hills, all taking in the nice spring weather and sunshine. And of course there are many people playing rugby, whether it's on the grass or on the beach. I had my first taste of real British Fish and Chips. You know, wrapped in Newspaper and all greasy like. It was great, at least for me!

I've been doing so much walking since I've gotten here, my legs and feet are always sore, especially after the walking tour I did on Sunday
Mt. VictoriaMt. VictoriaMt. Victoria

Me on top of Mt. Victoria with Rangitoto Island in the background. It is was pretty windy up there.
over to a suburb of Auckland called Devonport. I found this walk in my Lonely Planet book and it's called the 2 volcanoes walk. I paid $9 round trip to take a ferry over to Devonport and then climbed Mount Victoria (which is extinct presently) and found that the view was spectacular. This island behind me is called Ranitoto Island and is Auckland's youngest volcano. I then walked through a couple of neighbourhoods (very nice and charming houses, kind of like cottages) and went to Devonport Beach. There are so many shells on this beach, it's unbelieveable! and then I climbed North Head. This is another volcano, and it was also used as an army base, for defense of the city. Both Mounts had many big guns on them especially when they thought Russians were going to invade New Zealand. The of Mount Victoria, was quite the high, because the clouds were so low, and the view was so nice. I felt like I was being teased because I can see so many nice mountains, but yet I'm still here in Auckland, and it's making me a little ancy to get out of Auckland. I want to be in the
View of North HeadView of North HeadView of North Head

This is North Head the other extinct volcano from the top of Mt Victoria
wild....not in a city.

Today, I'm still looking for a car, and I may be visiting a couple car auctions to get a good deal. I also finally picked up a pay as you go cellphone because of the Labour Day holiday here, it was impossible to get much done Saturday, Sunday or Monday.

Please enjoy the following pictures 😊 Miss you all lots oxoxoxoxoxox


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Bottle Brush FlowersBottle Brush Flowers
Bottle Brush Flowers

I have no clue what this flower or plant is, but it looks like a brush you use to clean out your small bottles.
View from North HeadView from North Head
View from North Head

I hope you can see the colour of the water, it's very nice :)
AucklandAuckland
Auckland

This is from North Head. It's really not that big, when you compare it to Toronto.
From North Head to Mt VictoriaFrom North Head to Mt Victoria
From North Head to Mt Victoria

I'm trying to give you all a feel for the height of Mt. Victoria.
Devonport HomesDevonport Homes
Devonport Homes

This is the view from the Ferry, coming into Devonport, very charming.
Mount Victoria and North HeadMount Victoria and North Head
Mount Victoria and North Head

Another view from the Ferry.
The base of North HeadThe base of North Head
The base of North Head

I hope you can see the old lava flows at the bottom there. I was going to climb on them, but I figured it was best to appreciate it by stilling on it to rest my weary feet
Devonport BeachDevonport Beach
Devonport Beach

A nice beach at the foot of North Head. I was watching some kids throw big clumps of seaweed at each other. Water is pretty cold too!
Big Ranitoto IslandBig Ranitoto Island
Big Ranitoto Island

A closer look at Rangitoto Island


25th October 2005

Woo Hoo!!
Hiking! <3 it!! Gorgeous pics Tara! Keep up the great reporting. ;)
25th October 2005

Miss You
Hey :) Glad to hear your having a great time in NZ and have made it safe and sound. Keep sending the pics....I've been checking everyday for an update! :) Miss you LOTS!!!! Yeah I cried the day you left when i missed your call :( Talk soon!!!
25th October 2005

Miss You
Hey Miss you so so much!!!! Glad to hear your there and having a great time! Sorry I missed you the day you lieft....cried when I missed your call becuase I was going to drive there the night before to come see you...but I was drunk when I thought about it....Anyways talk to you soon and have fun!!! Love YA
25th October 2005

wow... I knew I should have stowed away!
Living the high-life I see! Keep the pics coming! Gives me a chance to live vicariously through you I'd say stay out of trouble, but where's the fun in that?
25th October 2005

wow the pics are georgeous
its sounds like you are finally haveing a good time. The Kids recognized the picture of you and Said Tara Tara. Tara algone.its very nice to follow along with you. you dont seem so far away
26th October 2005

Hey tara
Just managed to check out your blog. Sounds like a awsome time so far. cool pic's. I hope you have good luck finding a car you like. Miss you! have tons of fun! bye
26th October 2005

Hey Hey Hey
That flower looked like a toilet brush lol anyway i have to say those were some great pics including the one of you i might add hehe anyway hope your having fun!:)

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb