Rain, Rain go away...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 21st 2005
Published: October 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hong Kong AirportHong Kong AirportHong Kong Airport

I really enjoyed the mountains
Today has been pretty much a day of getting some business done. Today I opened a mailbox at a local travelers service place. I need that so I can have my bank statements and it's also necessary for when I buy a car, hopefully, maybe tomorrow. There's a Car Fair that goes on here every Saturday morning. I opened up a bank accoutn with Bank of New Zealand today also, and that felt really good. What's really nice down here is that fact that there are people who are called ambassadors that walk up and down the main streets here, and I think they're Maori. They are basically there to help you, if you have any questions about Auckland. I had to find a local grocery store to buy some things and they were quite friendly. Once I had shopped at the local grocery store, I walked back to the hostel with my heavy bags, and of course it decided to rain. Well, most places are covered, but not my route, so I got a little wet, no big deal.
My French dorm mate and I hung out today and went for "coffee". Since I don't drink it, I was looking
ShowerShowerShower

This is the shower at the Travel Lounge I stayed in at the Hong Kong Airport
for nice cup of Orange Pekoe, well, seems maybe Orange Pekoe doesn't exist in this country, which is not a good thing. We sat right on Queen Street and did some people watching. Okay, I take it back about wanting a Red Bull, they have that down here, I really want Tim Hortons. It's true how you take the little things for granted. Another example; my mother cooking and doing my laundry for me. I went to hand wash some things in the sink at the hostel yesterday. Fine...good. Tried to hang it to dry in my dorm room. The clothes are STILL WET. How frustrating because the hostel charges 6-9 dollars for a drying cycle, yes, one drying cycle.
Tonight since it is Friday, a couple girls and I are going to get dressed up as much as we can (which isn't very much because we're backpackers) and we're going to the trendy "Viaduct" area of Auckland (which is right on the water) to see if we can get into some ritzy place with our t-shirts, zip off pants and hiking shoes. We'll see if it works....it may be a big laugh. I've discovered Spiets beer (South Island brew)
No PeeingNo PeeingNo Peeing

I just found this entertaining. It's a sign saying that you can't pee in the shower or there's a $200 fine. ( I think)
is really nice and cheap!
I had my first taste of Lord of the Rings mania here. Seems there's a food place here called Lord of the Pizza. And they have different pizzas named after Frodo, Sam, Pippin, Merry ect....pretty cheesy I know 😊
I may be going to a Rugby game tomorrow. I guess it's the last game of the season and Auckland is playing Otago. Doesn't surpise me and my great timing. I get here when Rugby season is ending.
Well, I haven't taken alot of pictures because it's been too wet, but here are a few.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Backpackers HostelBackpackers Hostel
Backpackers Hostel

My present accomdations. I'm on a lower bunk. It's nice and clean and they have lockers for your stuff. It's also on an all girls floor which means I get good sleep


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb