Auckland....the adventure begins


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 19th 2005
Published: October 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Auckland, the city of sails. I arrived here at about 7am this morning. I have to say it's been a pretty tiring trip. I've got dark circles under my eyes. I arrived to a cloudy morning about 15c. I had a nice cab driver who took me into Auckland and we had a good conversation on the way. He told me to go down to the Bay of Plenty to look for some work. It was weird driving by all the school kids, because they all wear uniforms down here.
I was dropped at my hostel, and the staff are sooo nice. They answer any questions you have and are very friendly which is nice and welcoming. There are 7 floors because the building is quite narrow. I'm on an all girls floor and in a room with 8 other girls, and yes there are bunk beds. I was the first in the room so I scored a bottom bunk. It's nice and clean, so no complaints there. I put my stuff in the locker under the bed and went to take a shower, which was heavenly. They have a TV in the washroom and also nice antiseptic wipes for the toilet seats. 😊 I met a nice English lady who's doing an around the world tour, and so we walked Queen Street (the main street in Auckland and is very steep) passed by many nice little restaurants, sandwich stores, internet cafes, Louis Vitton, banks. I had a little sandwich for $3. We then went our separate ways, because I wanted to go to a couple banks to see which one I would open an account with. I've pretty much narrowed it down to Bank of NZ, so I'll be there tomorrow when my head is more clear. Because it's quite fuzzy right now. Really fuzzy to be exact.......I feel really messed up presently.
I opened a Post Office box here so that when I buy a car, and also for Bank Statements, they can mail them there.
I bought a $20 phone card, so I just have to figure out how to use it.
Their currency is wierd.....okay...$1 coin is smaller then a quarter, their 50c is like a silver dollar and quite heavy. Just interesting I guess, and observation.
I'm afraid of crossing the roads here, because I'm looking the wrong way for cars, and the people, they cross diagonally, not straight. I'm probably going to take a nap and then walk down to the harbour after that. And I'm going to bed early also, to make up for the lack of sleep.
Camping gear and the like is quite expensive down here also. I'm glad I've pretty much got what I need for the time being. And I found a WENDYS....*evil laugh*
I've got to sign off, because I'm going to fall asleep at the computer here. The internet cafe I'm in charges 1 hours for $2, so that's pretty cheap from what I see. This cafe is just about 5 steps from my hostel so its at least convenient.
My middle toe for a Red Bull......



Advertisement



20th October 2005

YOU MADE IT!!!! WOOHOO!!!!!!
Glad to hear you made it safe and sound. I know what you mean by the currency, it's very similar to Scotland. Anyways, be safe, don't do anything I would or wouldn't do. :) keep in touch and send some pictures when you can! Luv ya babes! Jo
20th October 2005

Hey Chicklet!!!
Glad to hear you got there safe and sound... check out the women - I tell you you'll be the hottest one around! (Other than the ubiquitous sheep of course). Is it better to add comments or e-mail directly? Let us know. Enjoy yourself while your still wide-eyed! Karen
20th October 2005

NEIL DIAMOND
I'm glad you are ok so far, and that your trip is going well. do they listen to Neil done there? Miss ya already... Barbara Streisand
20th October 2005

You go girl!
So nice to see you made it! Chris and Pat made it to BC, they arrived Wednesday around 5 BC time, and they didn't kill each other. LOL. Miss you already, TTT
21st October 2005

Greetings
Tara, so nice to follow along with you on your adventure. Carla and myself caught on to this and we are really enjoying reading your diary. Glad to hear everything is going well. We will try and educate others in the family to follow along also. God Bless and ENJOY!

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb