Some Mother's Do 'Ave 'Em


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 7th 2018
Published: November 7th 2018
Edit Blog Post

If you of a certain generation you will know all about Frank Spencer's mishaps and DIY disasters. Well last night was a little like an episode of Some Mother's Do 'Ave 'Em.

Where to start after picking up food and toiletries en route I get the camp site all well and good. Finally, time to put kettle on for a cuppa. The first one was wet and not very warm. I had left the kettle on for ages but the flame was losing its battle against the wind.The second cuppa was much more succesful, I improvised a windbreak by laying the fold up table on its side.

I had bite to eat, washed up and went for a wonder, it was starting get dark on my way back. I know BAD planning, it won't happen again. I had not realised it was so late as my body was still on UK time.

Where had I got to. Ah! I remember; Some Mothers Do ‘Ave ‘Em.

I got my bed all made up and tucked my myself in , and locked the doors from the inside. Switched the lights on and started writing my last blog. All was well until I dropped the phone down the side of the bed. No worries just slide the door open and have a rummage under the bed. Simples.

Nah! I could not get the door to open, between the dim light and tiredness I could not remember how I had locked the door. I leaned over to turn on a few more lights and the bed collapsed. In a state of panic as I now had a lost phone and broken bed I tried again to figure out how to open the doors. I gave up in the end and decided enough of the bed was in tact for me to sleep on. SO turned the light off an uneasily fell into the land of nod.

Morning comes and in the daylight I managed to find the lock for the door and thought that if I leant over hoping I could sort out the bed. This is where the Frank Spencer moment came in, with me throwing duvets,pillows, mattresses; in fact anything that I could reach in an attempt to free up the collapse bed.

ALL in vain, as the stuff I had stored under the bed was preventing me moving the support for the bed. Out go my boots, my coat, my rucksack all end up in a pile outside the van until I can find a foot hold to lever myself on top of my pile of my stuff. I can hear you laughing, it was not funny. That said, I am trying hard not to laugh out loud while I type this.

Once I am out; I make tea. Everything will seem better after tea.

I have a random breakfast of tea, cereal and yogurt, as I am saving my supply for the more important role of tea.

I get myself washed and dressed and realize I forgot to buy toothpaste on my shopping trip. I get my van all packed up in search of a shop.

The campsite I am on is in a nature reserve, so I need code to get out and I vaguely remember 2 codes in the email. I get to the gate and a couple were already there. Great I think; I won’t have to find the email. They approach me as the cannot get out, tbey have already called the ranger who confirmed the code to them but it does not work, and they are now trying to get back through to her on the phone. Good job I decided to leave when I did, if it weren't for the couple I would be in trouble as I have no phone signal.

We wait a while, then the ranger turns up and she cannot get the code to work either; but she does have a key for the padlock and we were freed.

I get to the shops and pick up supplies, remembering the toothpaste. The village was called Manly and when I saw the sign for Big Manly Beach, the first thing that popped into my head was Matt Gilleberg. Probably because you always put on your deepest manliest voice when doing an Manager Ringback. I head back to camp via lunch at a beach, and a walk along said beach.

Once back at camp I do my chores, hand washing has never been such a pleasure with the view I had. I decided to have something to eat before going for another walk, and pasta with a tomatoes sauce.

I walked for about an hour, the views were amazing, but by God is was windy. Cobwebs well and truly blown away. Time for a cuppa and now I find myself writing this blog. Not sure when it get published as internet connection is a bit patchy. That is what you get when camping in a nature reserve. Well worth the sacrifice in my opinion. Time for another cuppa I think.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb