Earning my keep.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 8th 2018
Published: November 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

2nd night went without incident. I was getting a bit steamed up so I opened the door and was woken up gently by the bird chorus.

I head early to get to use the loo and washed and read for the day; because I learnt yesterday that Department of Conservation cleaning technique is very basic, just hose everything down.

After breakfast I pack up the van and head away relatively early as I had seen a sign about Volunteer Tuesday’s with DOC; as I had no internet access or phone signal I took a punt and headed to the sign I had seen for Volunteer. Almost perfect timing I got there at 8.45 and volunteers had to report to the office at 8.50.

I picked a good day to pitch up; saw a video of a newly fledged Kiwi from the camera traps on the site and they were having a barbecue.

I had a great morning chatting to the locals, lunch and a couple of free nights in the campsite in return for clearing overgrown trees and bushes. Tell Fiona they did not let me near the chainsaw, I was just loading up the trailer.

After lunch I head in search of the ferry terminal to book my trip to the bird sanctuary only to find it is permanently closed and I to have book online. I headed back to Manly in search of WiFi. There was none to found even in the cafe where I am sitting with a latte, so not sure when this blog will be published.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb