Day 73: Nacula Island in the rain!‏


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands » Yasawa Island
February 20th 2013
Published: February 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We didn't want to leave barefoot lodge this morning. We'd had such a good couple of days on the island but we were excited about seeing another island too. We boarded the large boat heading north, but encountered an engine failure about an hour from our destination! This meant a very slow cruising speed of 6 knots and a little longer than expected to get to our next resort - Nabua lodge. We'd come through a lot of rain on the boat and this continued for the whole day! I'm not gonna lie I started to get very bored this afternoon as the activities get a little limited in the pouring rain! The food at Nabua lodge has been great so far and best of all the local tea shop bought over some delicious chocolate orange cake for afternoon tea. Hopefully the sun will come out tomorrow so that we can explore a little more of the island.

Baileys bit: While waiting to depart this morning I tried to acquire a coconut from one of the trees I couldn't climb to get them, throwing rocks didn't work and trying to force them down with a stick failed, so... I gave up! There are only 8 other people at our resort and over dinner we started talking to a Swedish couple who had just been to New Zealand, their stories have whetted our appetite for the next part of the journey!

Daily Mileage: 2 I explored a bit further up the path but with a the rain the rocks and hills had become quite slippery. After my descent I ran round the resort instead. I did a lot of loops just making up a mile! I tried to find a run around Nabua but there doesn't seem to be many paths, decided to do a bit of swimming and core stability in the bure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb