Kangaroo Paws


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Mandurah
October 8th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Second blog today - I am trying to catch up with the news.
If you read the Canada Trip blog 2 years ago you may remember my search for bear’s claws ( wooden not real) - well this time its Kangaroos Paws - and no I haven’t bought a gun …this is the name of some beautiful wildflowers. Highlight of the day yesterday was a trip to Kings Park in Perth ( and it’s the wildflower season here). Luckily I was shown round by a local as I met up with my friend Jill’s distant cousin Miriel and she knew quite a lot about the Aussi flora ( flowers not margarine).So thanks Jill for introducing me to Mireil. We wandered the park and even a little off the path adventure into the bush( not far from the car at all - and yes Terry I had the mobile with me!!!) and so I found many beautiful wildflowers and the kangaroos paws to photograoh. An invite for a meal to Miriels home was most welcome and a look at all her beautiful quilts which she has made was quite inspiring …might I start a quilt???
To make up for buying a jumper I have now got another pair of shorts so I am really getting into the swing of things…
Saw my first pelicans as I drove over river into Mandurah…this is the start of my drive around the SW coast. It's looking good with a great welcome for my new hosts Julie and Gary.
Bye for now all you lovely people - keep those messages coming to me. xxxx
Photos now up to date.... I can hear my kids say - ohno not more flowers!!!!!! xxxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



8th October 2010

Flowers
Flowers are good! Found the pictures of Boab trees really interesting. Do they not have any leaves because it is the beginning of Spring? The Balgas would go well in my garden. Don't expect they will like the climate though! Take Care Geraldine x
9th October 2010

Busselton/margaret river
Hi Lynne Graham here (NZ). Sounds like you're having a wonderful experience. We lived in WA for several years so know the places your talking about. We lived in Busselton. My guess is that your on your way down to the South West? All the best Graham
9th October 2010

Hi Lynne Have only just got to grips with accessing your blog! I am SO envious and also very pleased that you met with Miriel and saw her quilts and some of Perth. I can really magine myself there with you ..... Look forward to reading the next entry. With love Jill xx

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb