Train travel through the bush.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Dwellingup
October 9th 2010
Published: October 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

How I love this home/hospitality exchange and I am constantly overwhelmed by the friendliness and warm welcomes I receive. So yesterday I left my hosts Anna and Bill yesterday having had a great stay with them and travelled to Mandurah about 65 km south of Perth....to meet my new host family - Julie, Gary and their lovely daughter, Leanne. Julie's friends were concerned that I might be an axe -murderer and what was she doing letting a stranger into her house!!! This can someitmes be the response of folk who have never experienced home exchange but once you have tried it there is no going back and for me it makes travelling alone such a great and varied experience. Home comforts- Julie makes a very good spag bol- new friends with local knowledge - it is such a part of what I enjoy about these trips.
And so today Gary whisked us off to do a bit of shopping first and then to serious sightseeing in the area around Mandurah. A nice little town Pinjarra has a heritage trail - an old post office and church, art craft centre and excellent tearooms . So, Jill and Dee ,you will see I have done a bit of homework cos i went to see some Quilts before we had out scones and tea!!! Fotos also of us crossing the wobbly bridge over the river. From there we went off to Dwellingup - all these little towns give you a nice flavour of Aussie life - and here was the highlight - the Hotham Valley Railway. So Leanne and I got our tickets for a steam train ride through the bush... it was 30 mins there - a stop for a bush walk for 30 mins then 30 mins back. I loved it- we were spotting wildflowers and there were 300 year old Jarra trees ( eucalyptus) blackened by fire, and so many of these wonderful grass trees ( balgas). I love to see something new and this type of forest growth is new to me. LOVED IT.
We then drove back into Mandurah and my new friends took me on a walkabout - foreshore, harbours, over bridges - admiring the newly built architecture until we came to the restos and of course had to stop for fish n chips.
We finished off the day driving by the sea and spotting kangaroos on the golf course.
And so it has been another great day in lovely sunny hot ( 30 deg) Wesern Australia.... love to you all.
Lynne xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



10th October 2010

did u say GOLF?
Well hi our cobba Lynne, just flicking from ur blogs to bretts blogs and seeing same pics!! u both sure ur not in some warehouse in E/B faking!!!!? Cudnt help picking up about the ROOS on the golf course--wat handicap they play off!!? Even that sight wouldnt beat some of the sights i see up our club!!!!having Indian summer here at mo 71 2day!! sounds like ur aving great time as usual, I would rreally love to take part in those house swaps but could I trust Marilyn to behave herself and not fall out with our hosts?!! Dont know HOW i found time to script this as retirement is Soooooo busy!! take care and ENJOY love ALL the Bonniesxxx
16th October 2010
Photo 11

Wowee Lynne, what a journey you are having. Can see you are having the time of your life. Helped a friend from Lithuania fill in a Visa application for 2 weeks in Australia - she was worried about expense and not being able to afford any longer. Where did you find out about the home exchange - she wants to stay as cheap as possible. I stayed with families across America for 6 weeks long time ago. So yes it is an experience beyond belief. Well done you - keep enjoying every minute. Cos I am certainly enjoying your photos and blog xx
16th October 2010
Cream teas

Yummy delicious
Looks absolutely scrumptious xx

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb