Maybe the Dingo just ignored us and walked by.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
November 24th 2012
Published: November 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Brisbane LagoonBrisbane LagoonBrisbane Lagoon

My Roomie and I enjoying the beach
Hello again!

I'm now in Melbourne, my time in Brisbane has come and gone and things went very well. I spent a few days sight seeing and a few days offroading and camping on Fraser Island.

After my friend Mel left for Sydney I was staying in a hostel right in the thick of downtown in Brisbane. It turned out to be quite an awesome place, and asides from the obvious smell of BO it was in a perfect location and I had some awesome roomies. Brisbane is right on a large river, aptly named the same as the city and therefore has a lot of shoreline. Because there is no beach though there is a fake lagoon with nice clean water in an area called South Bank, free to use and with a wonderful view in site I spent a couple afternoons here with the roomies when it got too hot to do anything else.

In Brisbane I saw a few museums, the wonderful botanical gardens, and a few monuments. The botanical gardens are amazingly diverse and full of birds and lizards. They are so empty of people though that the council has installed a free wifi
Downtown BrisbaneDowntown BrisbaneDowntown Brisbane

Quite a few pedestrian only areas!
network that covers the whole park (think an area the size of Rocky Point Park). This meant for some pretty easy going time of sitting in the park catching up on a few emails and watching the world go by.

Now Fraser Island was hands down one of the coolest places I've been too. The Island is 100% sand and has no bedrock at all, this doesn't stop it from being the biggest sand island in the world at over 120km long though! We saw some amazing sights like an old ship wreck, wonderful crystal clear water lakes and streams, and very much to my surprise dense jungle. It was a fantastic experience, and the tour guide even had spent a year in Vancouver.

Tomorrow I'm headed down the Great Ocean Road which is a drive along the southern coast that heads west from Melbourne. It's supposed to be akin to the Oregon Coast and should be a good time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dingos are in this areaDingos are in this area
Dingos are in this area

I did see some! But they basically left us alone.
Swimming Hole in the JungleSwimming Hole in the Jungle
Swimming Hole in the Jungle

Basically in the middle of nowhere on Fraser Island


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb