Mists of the mind in Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
August 9th 2010
Published: August 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is my last blog and I’m almost wondering what the point is - as I’ve left Melbourne and have been in NZ for 2 days now! I guess writing about experiences never goes amiss.
After tornado of a time in USA (whirl wind doesn’t suffice in this situation), I was thrown headlong into a very cold, wintery Melbourne. Slight disorientation is probably an understatement after 19 hours of flying (4 hours from New Orleans to LA and 15 hours from LA to Melbourne) plus a COMPLETE change of temperature. The things we do ay?

In Melbourne I was based in the south-eastern suburbs traversing between Dandenong, Noble Park and Springvale. Is it a famous tourist spot, with plenty of things to do? Erm, no. But it was of significance to me as I spent time conversing with UNOH, another community development group in the area. These particular suburbs are the well known lower socio-economic areas of Melbourne. It’s interesting as this is combined with a very diverse mix of migrant groups. I was told that Dandenong in particular had the highest level of ethnic diversity in the whole of Australia. In the local primary school - over 150 different ethnic groups are represented! It was hard to say what sort of feel the place really had. I personally was feeling very cold most of the time. It’s therefore likely that most of my experience would have been viewed few the lense of “cold and miserable”! I guess I would say there is a sense of “survival” here. People from different places, with different stories trying to adjust to Australian life and try to make sense of what they have left behind. As well as new immigrant groups, there are people White Australian heritage. Some of them are struggling with substance abuse or mental illness. The ones easily forgotten, but whom UNOH is committed to working with.

It’s good to be home! I’ve gradually started processing and digesting all the conversations and meetings that I’ve had. As much as it’s been an enjoyable trip, it has also been challenging. It’s made me think more about my response to poverty and brokenness. What sorts of lifestyle commitments am I hoping to make going forward?



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Play group in the local schoolPlay group in the local school
Play group in the local school

Held in Noble Park primary school.


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb