In and Out of the States


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 30th 2010
Published: July 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My cousin's workplaceMy cousin's workplaceMy cousin's workplace

One side of the mansion

Breezing through NY



Those of you who know me well know that for the past few months “Empire State of Mind” by Alicia Keys & Jay Z has been playing like a broken record in my head. So of course I couldn’t help smiling when I finally reached New York and could legitimately sing that song. Unfortunately that song is old news in the “concrete jungle where dreams are made”, so I didn’t want to risk looking like a complete idiot by singing that song at that top of my voice in the middle of Manhattan. It’s just as well, because I went to visit my cousin on her job in Oyster Bay, Long Island. There was no such thing as a concrete jungle out there! She has a sweet summer job as a nanny working 5 days a week in a mansion overlooking the water. She took me for a tour around the house and I lost count of the bedrooms and bathrooms. Not to mention one main kitchen plus another 2 or 3 extra ones (what? Just in case you need to cook in the West Wing?).

When you compare the sort of space available in Queens, Brooklyn or Harlem with what I saw in Oyster Bay it’s a little more than perplexing! Got me thinking about equity, equality, egalitarianism… What is ok, fair and just? Or even what space and greenery does to one’s emotions. Contrast that with Manhattan where I joined another friend later on that evening. Sky-rise buildings for days, flashing lights (and yes, they were inspiring me!), people, noise. A place I enjoy when I visit, but I don’t know if I could live in for long periods of time. Think I’m probably spoiled by the wide rolling hills and beautiful forests of home.


Below the Mason-Dixon Line


After my jaunt in NY, I headed below the Mason-Dixon line and spent 3 days in DC, 2 days in Baltimore and 2 days in New Orleans. The Mason-Dixon line is the imaginery line that separates the North of US from the South. It's funny though, if you speak to folks in New Orleans, they're adamant that DC is not part of the South. Those up North however would beg to differ.

My experience in DC was one filled with colour and noise. Of course it was - I spent the most
Naija ladiesNaija ladiesNaija ladies

All this attire - just for the afternoon meeting...
of weekend accompanying my cousins to a Nigerian gathering. I found it comforting, that all the way on the other side of the world - our people still talk the same, eat the same and PARTY the same!

I also managed to squeeze in a bit of sight-seeing around the capitol in amongst a rain storm. Time was tight, so I didn’t get to enter any Smithsonian museums. Not to worry - there will be a next time.

My stay in Baltimore was basically to catch up with an old uni friend and get my hair done. If it wasn’t for my friend, I’m not sure if I’m in a hurry to get back to Baltimore again. After being spoiled with lovely public transport in London, NY and even DC, Baltimore left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. Oh well, maybe it’s preparing me for returning home to NZ? Haha. Nonetheless it is fascinating to try and glimpse something of the heart of Baltimore. It’s sort of a hotch potch of wealth, prestige (e.g. John Hopkins University where my friend studies) and quiet desperation. Parts of the city are dotted with derelict buildings that either
Party timeParty timeParty time

With my cousins & friend.
used to be homes or businesses. Coupled with signs showing “No Loitering” on the sides of buildings; it doesn’t elicit much hope of a buoyant economy. Nonetheless there is still life and activity there.

New Orleans, the Big Easy

Oh how I miss this city! It was only 9 months ago that I left New Orleans, so it was lovely to be back and walk familiar streets and see old friends. I think I really did leave a part of my heart here - even though I missed Mardi Gras and Jazz Fest again!! Yesterday I spent a bit of time hanging out in French Quarter, reminiscing old times. That was not before I stopped by La Pavillon Hotel to greet a friend who worked there. There I was in my jandals, in this opulent, plush hotel - filled with crystal chandeliers and marble... being shouted a decadent New Orleans lunch. This place just makes my heart happy! I’m a bit concerned that I totally forgot to stop by Café Du Monde & have beignets with chicory coffee. But it’s ok because I’ve had ice cream from Creole Cremery and might grab a frozen Daiquiri before I head to the airport.

Obviously not much work was done on the New Orleans leg of the trip. I might need to arrange a further “work-related” excursion there in the future!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Downtown DCDowntown DC
Downtown DC

Some Louvre-esque pyramids over a Smithsonian museum
Kevin & I at La PavKevin & I at La Pav
Kevin & I at La Pav

Made friends with Kevin last time I was in NOLA. He shouted me lunch this time!
Thursday Dinner TableThursday Dinner Table
Thursday Dinner Table

A small sample of folks I used to see regularly at the Thursday dinner last year.
Beth's sweet placeBeth's sweet place
Beth's sweet place

Beth had new place which I got to stay out. Porch swing!


Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb