Fraser Island day 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
March 25th 2010
Published: March 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yes I was up at 5.30 Am as were 3 of my girls, and it was worth it !!! a beautiful sunrise with pinks and golden colours all around cotton wool clouds ...... beautiful . About a dozen of us got up to sit and watch it on the beach, after remembering to walk around the electric Dingo grid !!!

A hearty english breakfast was due ...... yum yum 😊
But then a very very bumpy ride in the bus for about an hour, I had to give a Stergeron to Alaina one of my girls as she was turning a mid green colour before our eyes !!!

We arrived at Lake McKenzie .....OMG how beautiful it was, its a fresh water lake made entirely from rain water, with sky blue water then darker blue when it goes deeper, cool and fresh and absolutely beautiful. Its next to a beach and we had the whole area to ourselves, thanks to Carl. lots of swimming, photo shoots, and sunbathing ensued ............ its tough I tell ya ...... real tough !!!!

After lunch it was a 40 treck uphill on sand (obviously) to see what would appear to be a desert ...... HUGE sand dunes all covered in virgin sand....... so we all did lots of running and jumping on the sand, well it seemed rude not to. Over the sand dunes was Lake Wabby which is another fresh water lake but at the top of a hill - very weird but its all to do with sand being compressed down and rain falling and making this amazing lake. We were there for about an hour, which was lovely. Great photos again. Along the walk we saw a Golden Orbweaver spider - very poisonous and about 8cm in length - photos were taken from a reasonable distance !!!

We also saw a large lizard and more Dingo's today, plus hundreds of small parots that make the biggest din youve ever heard !!! beautiful birds that fly in formation but noisy buggars !!!

Time for the ferry back 😞 I had a really really great time and me and my girls are meeting for coffee tomorrow morning 😊

I'm off to Agnes waters tomorrow afternoon, so lets see what that has in store !!!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



25th March 2010

Ok, im never going to oz, i hate spiders!!! However, the beach and the 25year old chicks sound alright, so i may change my mind! :) x
26th March 2010

weetabix moment
Hi Just catching up with you whilst enjoying my weetabix before experiencing another lovely day at Claremont. All sounds such fun, wish you could have hidden me in your backpack. Speak soon Deb x
26th March 2010

hello mummy dearest
Hello, Just thoguth I would check in and say hello as off to Brighton tomorrow for a girly weekend so prob won't be messaging til next week. I really really wish we were there with you- I want to see the sun and have warmth!!! haahaa. Can't wait to see all your pics.... I'm surprised all the computers are so pants over there...or is it becuase all your pics are x-rated what with all the surfers you're hanging around with! heehee. Everything is good at home, Nick's looking at doing OU courses through work so he's pleased about that and I've seen lots of viski- can you believe she is reading??!! I'm soooo proud.... I may even buy her a bookcase at this rate haha! Anyways.....keep having the time of your life. It's great coming on here and reading all your messages and everyone elses......you are trury adored! love ya xxxxxxxxxxx
31st March 2010

hi there
Hi Karen, What an amazing time you are having , am very envious and am seriously considering taking some time off now . Continuue enjoying think of you often love Abby

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0944s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb