Cairns & the Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
August 24th 2010
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -16.9254, 145.775

Cairns was very hot on arrival, above 30 degrees, we got a shared mini bus to the hostel which turned out out to be run by a fellow Glaswegian and his Australian wife!! Small world, his Dad still lives at home and I'd just round the corner from me and he knows some of the same people, it's unbelievable.

Cairns is so clean and groomed and the walk into the main shops and marina is really chilled, relaxing with a boardwalk filled with local art works. There's butterflies and litterbugs and pianos for anyone to play, free gyms all along the walkway and also a huge free Zumba class.

The marina has some of the largest yachts I've ever seen and I love walking round them, on the way back there's a huge swimming and BBQ area that's full of people.

I arrange to head out to the Great Barrier Reef the following day and I'm really excited. It's a good couple of hours out on a fairly large boat, despite it's size people are being sea sick all around, not long before we're due to arrive at the pontoon Raymie joins in... Poor thing. Anyway when we arrive, the boats tied to the pontoon and we're served lunch then are free to head out. There's a glass bottom boat tour, an underwater cinema, a semi submersible, diving and snorkeling.

I try everything then head out snorkeling, although I felt a bit wary initially once I was in I loved it. I ended up swimming with two huge sea turtles, loads of colorful wee fish and urchins, an enemas etc. it was amazing. I was high as a kite when I got out and Raymie was laughing at my gestures when I spotted the turtles, definitely another check off the must do list, an incredible experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb