Brisbane & Surfers


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
August 27th 2010
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -27.4676, 153.028

It's a short flight down to Brisbane, and we get a taxi up to our hotel. After a quick wander down the main street I called my cousin to arrange visiting. To my surprise it's her daughters birthday and we end up invited out to a lovely French restaurant for dinner before going for drinks in the bohemian part of town.

Raymie dons his kilt and I dig out a dress and we're no sooner ready than her husband arrives to pick us up. It was lovely meeting this part of the family again, it had been such a long time since I saw them. So we talk of family and get reacquainted and as they're all into their music it's ideal for Raymie to give lots of chat and advice. This is continued the night before we leave when we're invited to a BBQ of kangaroo and ostrich etc. which was amazing. We were kindly invited to stay and get dropped at the airport in the morning and we had a lovely night of sing songs and telling stories.

During our visit we found Ric's Bar recommended by friends which just happened to be the same place that my cousin's kids play in, and ended up a battle of the bands. We toured the city on the city cat (catamaran's) and also went out to surfers paradise for the day, all in all I really enjoyed my time in Brisbane and felt I really toured and saw a lot of it. You can't beat local knowledge though which was a great help.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb